Author Topic: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator  (Read 67897 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« on: March 21, 2006, 07:41:56 AM »
This is a port of Frodo, by Christian Bauer, with modifications for
the nds by Troy Davis(GPF).  The original source code is obtainable from
http://www.uni-mainz.de/~bauec002/FRMain.html.  The home page of the NDS port is http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk


Instructions
copy your .D64 c64 disk images to a folder called /rd on the root of your cf/sd card

startup the emulator and it will allow you to select the d64 disk to mount on drive 8


you can press the right trigger to have it automatically type LOAD"*",8,1 and then RUN .

note. You might want to test the .d64 file on another version of Frodo to verify that the d64 is compatible with Frodo.

while playing games the dpad and a and b buttons are used for your joystick

press select to switch between port1 and port2 that the joystick is in.

dpad directions up,down,left,right
a button joystick firebutton
b button space key

The source code will be available on my site and would appreciate any and all help to improve this emulator.

thanks and enjoy,
Troy Davis(GPF)
http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk

thanks to headspin for the keyboard and code, thechuckster for the fat library d64 browser from his stellads port, maintainers of devkitpro and libnds and to all those in #mellowdsdev and #dsdev on efnet for there help and support.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2006, 06:53:03 PM by GPF »

Offline worstenbrood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2006, 07:45:46 AM »
hehe nice work dude, gonna test the thing out, good luck!

Offline Sektor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
    • gtamp.com/DS
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2006, 04:35:44 PM »
Nice job.  Jumpman is playable.

« Last Edit: March 30, 2006, 04:48:17 PM by Sektor »

Offline fugazi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2006, 01:19:29 AM »
im using sc/sd and it not detect roms, it says "-2 files detected"

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2006, 07:15:30 AM »
Ok finally had someone else test on the supercard sd and it does appear to be broken, Sektor helped me out and found out that by default FAT lib support is disabled for supercard sd, iv reenabled support for everything but disabled write support just in case and have attached those new version to this post, if the entered version wont work for you this version should, I had someone with a supercard sd test the .ds.gba attached and was able to view the files in the /rd folder and mount them and then load them from the c64 ready prompt :)

BTW thanks all for your votes and support :)
Troy(GPF)

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2006, 01:16:56 PM »
Ok finally tested on the m3 sd and it still broken in version 0.1 , I grabbed the FAT lib from the mp3play10 source since it was reported the it was working with m3 sd, but disabled write support just in case and have attached those new version to this post, if the previous version wont work for you this version should, I tested the .ds.gba attached and was able to view the files in the /rd folder and mount them and then load them from the c64 ready prompt

BTW thanks all for your votes and support
Troy(GPF)

Offline Metaluna

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2006, 06:14:25 PM »
I've just tested Jumpman on my M3 SD and it's really amazing.  :)

Too bad it doesn't run Fort Apocalypse and Forbidden Forrest, my favourite C64 games. 

I have to test Archon. It would be wonderful to play this one with another player by wifi..   ;)


Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2006, 10:23:18 PM »
it might be your version of Fort Apocalypse, I just tried mine and it works. I didnt get a chance to test Forbidden Forest yet though.

Thanks for your support.
Troy(GPF)

Offline fugazi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2006, 08:52:26 PM »
it take a lot to load , there is no way to speed up

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2006, 09:12:12 PM »
it take a lot to load , there is no way to speed up

next version will have the ability to load snapshots from the pc version of Frodo, which are pretty much instaneous.

Thanks for your support,
Troy(GPF)

Offline Metaluna

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2006, 01:48:52 AM »
it might be your version of Fort Apocalypse, I just tried mine and it works.

Yes, it works. I didn't wait long enough at my first try.  :-[

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2006, 07:03:19 AM »
it might be your version of Fort Apocalypse, I just tried mine and it works.

Yes, it works. I didn't wait long enough at my first try.  :-[


:) Finally discovered the problem with loading times, 1541 emulation was unable to be turned off, found the problem and with it disabled things load a lot faster, this will be selectable in the future depending on whether the game requires 1541 emulation mode to be on or off.

Troy(GPF)

Offline CU_AMiGA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2006, 11:51:57 PM »
Hey Yo!

I am using the SuperCard SD seup for this, and cant seem to get the emu working. I tried the .nds file in nds mode, and the .gba file in gba mode. The .nds file presents me with the "Spring Coding Competition" screen, and then appears to freeze (no text in the bottom screen either). The .gba file just crashes (both screens go blank!). I put the emu files and the /rd dir in the root directory (with a .d64 file in the /rd dir). How can i get this running!? :'(

Regards,

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2006, 12:05:40 AM »
from what i have been told from my supercard sd testers, is that all they do is rename the .ds.gba file to .gba.nds and use that file.

Let me know if this doesnt work for you, and Ill ask them for more details.

thanks for trying it out,
Troy(GPF)
« Last Edit: March 28, 2006, 04:19:56 AM by GPF »

Offline trueman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2006, 03:32:40 AM »
Hi, i downloaded al versions of the emu and tested it with my supercard sd (i have 2 of this with two different sd cards 512 and 1GB), but nothing
worked.
I tested the normal *.nds files and renamed the *.nds.gba to *.nds, but the emu freezes in the spring coding competition 2006 screen.
Any ideas?