Author Topic: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator  (Read 67020 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #15 on: March 28, 2006, 04:12:57 AM »
Hi, i downloaded al versions of the emu and tested it with my supercard sd (i have 2 of this with two different sd cards 512 and 1GB), but nothing
worked.
I tested the normal *.nds files and renamed the *.nds.gba to *.nds, but the emu freezes in the spring coding competition 2006 screen.
Any ideas?

OK got a little more information from my tester, he said you rename the FrodoDS.ds.gba to FrodoDS.gba.nds and then from the file selection menu press A button to load it.

Troy(GPF)

Offline revo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • dsCode
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2006, 05:10:55 PM »
I'm trying to try it from MK2 and on start it's listing main SD directory instead of rd/. If I put roms in main dir, and choose them, loading fails with "file not found" error.

I'm using MK2 menu v0.6 beta 2

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #17 on: March 29, 2006, 01:58:39 AM »


This new version now only list the .d64/.D64 files in the /rd directory(limit them to less then 15 or they will scroll of the screen)

1541 drive emulation is turned off for a lot speedier load times.

As you can see in the above image the screen colors are finally correct

Sound is now recognisable for most things.

Left shoulder button will now load a snapshot image created with the pc version of Frodo 4.1b, name the snapshot jjr.fss and put it in the /rd folder on the root of the cf/sd card.

Enjoy and Thanks for all the support.
Troy(GPF)
http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk
« Last Edit: March 29, 2006, 02:37:52 AM by GPF »

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #18 on: March 29, 2006, 05:47:43 AM »
This new version uses the romfs appended to the end of the .nds or .ds.gba file so should work for most everything but the gbamp, with a little more work to generate the romdisk and append it. This version is only need for those that the FAT lib version doesnt work.

You need a copy of genromfs.exe , you can download from here
http://www.feetoffury.com/files/genromfs-cygwin.zip rename it to genromfs.exe or update the included createromdisk.bat file.

Also might need the cygwin1.dll file from here http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/pop.php?cygwin1

Download the gbfs distrubution from http://www.pineight.com/gba/ and take the padbin.exe and put that in the folder as well.

put the files into the same folder, then copy all of your .d64 files (also jjr.fss snapshot if you create one) into the rd directory and run the included createromdisk.bat

it should generate an FrodoDS_fs.nds and FrodoDS_fs.ds.gba .

This has all the fixes as the FAT lib version 0.3, but is not needed unless the FAT version from above message is not working

Enjoy and Thanks for all the support.
Troy(GPF)
http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk
« Last Edit: March 29, 2006, 09:34:19 PM by GPF »

Offline ahamay

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #19 on: March 29, 2006, 07:16:59 PM »
It does not work on my supercard CF. I get the errormessage:
not found fs_romdisk: mounting image at 0x0 at /rd  :-X

Then it freezes up... I did everthing according to your tutorial. Strange however... The first version of Frodo worked without any problem. ::)

Regards,

Maurice

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #20 on: March 29, 2006, 09:05:01 PM »
It does not work on my supercard CF. I get the errormessage:
not found fs_romdisk: mounting image at 0x0 at /rd  :-X

Then it freezes up... I did everthing according to your tutorial. Strange however... The first version of Frodo worked without any problem. ::)

Regards,

Maurice

Did you try the FAT lib version 0.3 ?

On the romdisk version did the file romdisk.img get created? that is the file that should be created by genromfs.exe that the bat file runs, it should approxiametly be the size of all the .d64 files in the rd directory.  Also I forgot to include a link to padbin.exe that used as well, and might be the problem, if the romdisk.img file got created correctly. Download the gbfs distrubution from http://www.pineight.com/gba/ and take the padbin.exe and put that in the folder as well and rerun the bat file. Also try opening a command/dos window and run the bat file from there so you can see if there are any error messages.

Troy(GPF)
« Last Edit: March 29, 2006, 09:32:43 PM by GPF »

Offline ahamay

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #21 on: March 29, 2006, 11:34:16 PM »
Hello Troy,

Yes it worked when I included Padbin.exe before executing the bat file.
So that should be the problem. I tested one of my favorites: Space taxi, but noticed some things:

Speed:
Speed is too slow, do you think it's possible to improve this in future releases? I know the DS has only 66Mhz and a commodore Amiga did have
some issues to emulate the C64 back then. (In 97/98)

Sound:
2) I see that audio has improved, good work. But the digitized voice "hey taxi" does not work correctly. Just to let you know !

Don't see this a critism, this port is a very promising port and you did a great job. Of all the emulators out there for the DS the C64 was always the system I wanted a emulator for. I also voted for you !

Best regards,

Maurice
P.S. If you want something tested in the future on a Super CF, let me know.

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2006, 02:26:01 AM »
Hello Troy,

Yes it worked when I included Padbin.exe before executing the bat file.
So that should be the problem. I tested one of my favorites: Space taxi, but noticed some things:

Speed:
Speed is too slow, do you think it's possible to improve this in future releases? I know the DS has only 66Mhz and a commodore Amiga did have
some issues to emulate the C64 back then. (In 97/98)

Sound:
2) I see that audio has improved, good work. But the digitized voice "hey taxi" does not work correctly. Just to let you know !

Don't see this a critism, this port is a very promising port and you did a great job. Of all the emulators out there for the DS the C64 was always the system I wanted a emulator for. I also voted for you !

Best regards,

Maurice
P.S. If you want something tested in the future on a Super CF, let me know.

thanks for letting me know of the sucess, and I will let you be a tester when I get some new code for supercard CF support.

Troy(GPF)

Offline headspin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #23 on: April 01, 2006, 01:29:12 AM »
Congrats on 3rd place GPF!

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #24 on: April 01, 2006, 04:27:35 AM »
Congrats on 3rd place GPF!

Thanks.

I want to thank all the nostalgic public for there support for the c64. well im off to work some more on FrodoDS :)

Troy(GPF)
http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk

Offline PW-Herman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #25 on: April 01, 2006, 09:55:38 PM »

GPF your work is great !!
I am using it on my GBAMP .

Just one question for future release is there any idea to make a reset or
restart function ?

Well great thank you !

Offline spinal

  • Coder of DSision
  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 796
    • spinalcode
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #26 on: April 22, 2006, 09:21:33 PM »

GPF your work is great !!
I am using it on my GBAMP .


Can someone tell me how to use this with GBAMP?
I just get bith white screens.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2016, 06:17:58 PM by spinal »

Offline xcom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #27 on: July 15, 2006, 11:11:45 AM »
A C64 emulator on the DS, awesome.  :-*

Added the emulator and files onto my DS-Lite (Wizball) and all worked perfectly right up until I tried to play the game. The same issue was visible on all D64 roms tested.

The playback is slow, and the sound choppy. I'm sure you are aware of these issues but hopefully future releases will improve this minor issue.

Looking forward to improved future releases, and Wizball!.

Would like to see the following added:

Nicer front end - I can build some graphics for you if you would like.

Need to make the file selection screen scroll for more roms to be visible.

A C64 reset button below the keyboard

Separate arrow keys from the keyboard in a T pattern

better playback performance.

If you want any assistance on the graphics email me at: cheese_gromit@mac.com with the details - I'd be happy to help out.

Offline GPF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • GPF's dev site
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #28 on: July 28, 2006, 12:47:22 AM »
new home of FrodoDS

http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk/Frodoc64.shtml

Thanks,
Troy(GPF)



Offline ooRay

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
« Reply #29 on: August 30, 2006, 07:51:33 PM »
Hi there!
I have a problem I need your help with: It´s impossible for me to create a directory called "/rd" since "/" is not allowed in a name in Windows. I also tried to create it with DSOrganise, but it shows the slash as an underscore. Hence FrodoDS won´t start with an error saying "can´t find directory"...

Any ideas? Thanks in advance! :)