Author Topic: NDS APP - DSVNC  (Read 141439 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline thoduv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
NDS APP - DSVNC
« on: August 21, 2006, 03:27:00 AM »
Here's my little entry !  :)

------------------------------------------------------
> DSVNC
> Version 0.1
> Remote Framebuffer client for NDS.
> By Thoduv (http://thoduv.drunkencoders.com | ).
> Distributed under the GPL license (see COPYING file).
------------------------------------------------------

DSVNC is a VNC client for Nintendo DS.
VNC is a protocol that allows the client to control the computer that runs the server: the client sees the screen of the server and can control its keyboard and mouse.
DSVNC is a client that runs on the DS.

(  How to use   )

First you must install a VNC server on the computer you want to control. Famous/Best VNC client/servers are "RealVNC" (for Windows) and "TightVNC" (for Linux).
Download one of them and install it, then run the server.

> Note for Linux users: if you want yo share your current desktop instead of starting a new X session, you may uses the "X11VNC" server.

Then, have a way to run DS homebrew and launch DSVNC. On the top screen, you will see explanations in the gray box, and on the bottom screen you will see the menus.
To connect easily a VNC server, uses "Quickly connect to another server".
Then, you have to type the server's adress (IP or Hostname), and a password if you specified one on your server. Then you will be connected to the server. See "Controls when connected" paragraph for more infos.

> Note: The first reception of the screen image can be a little long (5 to 10 seconds), depending of your network speed and your screen resolution.
> Note: If your wireless network is very slow and your screen is very big, DSVNC will be too slow for being usable. (Not my fault if Nintendo locked Wifi to 2Mbps)Neoflash MK2/3, ...), your options will be written on a "dsvnc.ini" file at root of your CF/SD.

( Controls when connected )

Stylus: - When global view on touch screen, selects the zoomed zone.
        - When zoomed zone on touch screen, controls mouse. Right/left (depending of L/R held or not) click if touched.
Pad: Move.
ABXY: Same as pad (easier for left-handled people).
L/R: Change mouse button (right button while held).
Select: Show/Hide keyboard.
Start: Swap screens.
L+R+Start+Select: Disconnects and go back to main menu.

( Compiling DSVNC )

If you want to compile DSVNC, you have to edit Makefiles and edit pathes to libnds and some other things, since I'm not using "standard" DS template.
I think you can also copy all the files in a "standard" template to have it compile. If you have some problems, feel free to ask.

( Using... )


-> Dswifi by Sgstair. (Wonderful work, thanks to him !)
-> LibVNCServer 0.8 (a little modified for NDS, using __NDS__ define)
-> Zlib 1.2.3
-> Libjpeg 6b
-> gba-nds-fat (modified version that currently have the best compatibility)

( Special thanks )

-> Authors of LibVNCServer, that i'm using.
-> People on #dsdev.fr "pour les idées débiles, et les tests ratés". :-P

------------------------------------------------------
> Hoping you'll enjoy this small soft !
> If you have any questions, mail me at .
------------------------------------------------------

This is not a final version, only an "usable" one. I don't plan to work on it anymore, so code is provided if someone want to improve (and speed up) it.

Source: http://thoduv.drunkencoders.com/dsvnc/dsvnc_source.zip

- Thoduv
« Last Edit: August 23, 2006, 12:33:15 AM by thoduv »

Offline dg10050

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2006, 04:31:23 AM »
Any chance of a video of this. It sounds really cool. 8)

Offline papodaca

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2006, 05:04:06 AM »
don't know about any one else but im getting a "guru Mediation Error!"
tried a few servers too same error

Offline thoduv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2006, 05:43:36 AM »
It can be because your screen resolution is too high for DS' memory (> 1280x1024).

Offline Mobad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2006, 06:00:35 AM »
well on my SCCF the splash screen shows up then i get 2 white screens but then if i click L+R i get some time screen so yah its not working

:/

Thanks,
Mobadass

Offline retrohead

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • DS-Scene
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2006, 06:16:36 AM »
I get 2 white screens then i get error starting vnc application, Supercard SD  ::sm-04::

Offline diggla

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2006, 07:03:32 AM »
I patched the nds file with Supercards Moonshell Patcher and with the Supercard Homebrew Patcher. Those tools can be downloaded from http://l33t.spod.org/ratx/DS/SC/. It works flawlessly with my Supercard Lite.

I'm using RealVNC on my Windows XP PC using resolutions from 640x480 up tp 1024x768.

This is the best remote control soft for the nds. It surpasses Win2DS and PointyRemote by far!

Great Tool! FTW :)  ::sm-18.gif::

I get 2 white screens then i get error starting vnc application, Supercard SD  ::sm-04::

Offline Mobad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2006, 07:09:58 AM »
I patched the nds file with Supercards Moonshell Patcher and with the Supercard Homebrew Patcher. Those tools can be downloaded from http://l33t.spod.org/ratx/DS/SC/. It works flawlessly with my Supercard Lite.

I'm using RealVNC on my Windows XP PC using resolutions from 640x480 up tp 1024x768.

This is the best remote control soft for the nds. It surpasses Win2DS and PointyRemote by far!

Great Tool! FTW :)  ::sm-18.gif::


OMG i really want this to work ive tried both patchers and it still dosent work
same 2 white screens error

Offline Dali

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2006, 07:37:55 AM »
How does one supply a password to the vnc server?

I got it working with x11vnc, but I'd like to try tightvnc, and it's requiring a password.

Any idea as to how to do that?

Otherwise, a seriously cool app!

Cheers,

dali

Offline GeekShadow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2006, 09:59:56 AM »
got a "guru Mediation Error!" using UltraVNC Server :(

Offline mlikecheese

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2006, 10:31:09 AM »
How do I know what IP adress to enter?

Offline Sektor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
    • gtamp.com/DS
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2006, 11:20:39 AM »
Run IPCONFIG on the machine running the VNC server.

Offline sumiguchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • sumiguchi
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2006, 11:41:29 AM »
It seems to be running on mine, but I can't seem to get good control.

When I am on a text field (or at a dos box) and use the keyboard (select) - when I type one letter, it gets written 3 or 4 times. Type e, get eeeeee.

This could be better than the web browser from opera! Full PC browser capabilities through vnc - awesome! I could even do homebrew dev from my DS!  :D

THe mouse/stylus features don't seem to work for me either... ???
« Last Edit: August 21, 2006, 01:09:48 PM by sumiguchi »

Offline thoduv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2006, 04:21:56 PM »
Dall> If password is needed, you'll be asked for it when connecting.

GeekShadow> What is your screen resolution ? Do you tried with the BGR233 mode ?

sumiguchi> Keyboard fixed in the attachement. :) About the mouse, it's effectively not very accurate in some case, but I dont manage to fix it :(

Mobad> For Supercard, try to use .sc.nds in attachement.

retrohead> This error means that your server rejected the client. Which server are you using ?
« Last Edit: August 21, 2006, 07:26:45 PM by thoduv »

Offline diggla

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: NDS APP - DSVNC
« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2006, 04:46:50 PM »
got a "guru Mediation Error!" using UltraVNC Server :(

Try RealVNC from http://www.realvnc.com/cgi-bin/download.cgi if you get the "Guru Mediation Error". I also got this error when i used TightVNC on WinXP.