Author Topic: DiagnoSe  (Read 57678 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline spinal

  • Coder of DSision
  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 796
    • spinalcode
DiagnoSe
« on: June 23, 2007, 09:55:07 AM »
My nickname: Spinal
Projet name : DiagnoSe
Division: NDS APP
Original enter : YES
In last NEO Compo this project won in the top 10 : NO

DiagnoSe



A while ago, I created a simple button tester so I could test the keyboard layout of a DS emulator.
After sharing it with the DS community, some forum users had suggested that I add a couple of features and turn the simple button tester into a fully fledged diagnosis tool. Soon more and more people suggested feature that DiagnoSe should have and some of those features have been added. I have learned a lot from coding DiganoSe and have had fun doing it. I hope that some people find use for this application.

Features include testing

•   Direction Pad and buttons
•   Touch screen accuracy
•   Wifi settings
•   Microphone
•   Speakers
•   Screen lights
•   Motion card/pak (sold separately)
•   Rumble pak (sold separately)
•   DLDI FAT
•   EEPROM

Also

•   Boot GBA game
•   Fix stuck pixels
•   Reset to card menu (supported cards only)
•   Power off DS
•   Set screen brightness (DS Lite only, not saved in firmware)
•   Battery monitor
•   Temperature monitor
•   GBA screen select (not saved in firmware)

As always, any comments or suggestions are welcome.
The splash screen will be updated as soon as one has been selected for the competition.

Manual.pdf
diagnose.zip

spinal_cord@yahoo.com



« Last Edit: August 19, 2007, 07:52:14 PM by spinal »

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2007, 11:55:05 AM »
woooo! very useful APP! i like it, i have many nds need to check and repair  ::sm-02::
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline tomqman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2007, 04:01:08 PM »
kool its working well on my dslite via r4ds  ::sm-29.gif:: the only thing  is that the microphone test dosnt seem to work (i know my microphone works as only just used it in zelda).

Offline spinal

  • Coder of DSision
  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 796
    • spinalcode
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2007, 05:26:17 PM »
It uses palibs mic volume code, i noticed it isnt very sensitive, I found blowing into the mic usually got the bar to light up.

[edit] You're right, it doesn't seem to work, Ill have a look, see if I can find whats wrong.

[edit] It seems to have something to do with the FAT test, if I remove it, everything else works fine. :(

[edit again] Fixed, please re-download and test. Thankyou.

Menu bug fixed also.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2007, 12:06:04 AM by spinal »

Offline wraggster

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
    • DCEmu Homebrew Network
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2007, 05:40:33 AM »
nice app :)


Webmaster of DCEmu

The Worlds Only Homebrew and Gaming Network Covering All Consoles.

Offline Crass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • DS-Scene.net
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2007, 09:10:27 AM »
Wow this is a very professional DS diagnostic tool. This would be very nice for testing used DS to see if they are worth purchasing.

Offline tomqman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2007, 04:36:12 PM »
very good microphone test working fine now  ::sm-29.gif::

Offline Aurelio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2007, 07:12:55 PM »
Great app.But i think that list files in directory for fat test isn't important.
You have to delete fatInitDefault() and then add:
if(fatInitDefault()){
PA_OutputText(0,0,0,"Your fat with dldi works fine);
}else{
PA_OutputText(0,0,0,"Your fat with dldi doesn't work);
}

Bye

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2007, 03:13:41 PM »
just test the MK6-motion, it can response with X,Y axises, but how to test the Z asix? and i found the gyro function can be test, i think you should make the NDS test icon rolling too when i roll the nds?
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline spinal

  • Coder of DSision
  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 796
    • spinalcode
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2007, 05:15:18 PM »
It was supposed to do that, but for some reason it broke, I will have a look at it.

PS, can i expect my mk6 anytime soon?

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2007, 11:43:41 PM »
please PM me ur address again,send in this week.
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline spinal

  • Coder of DSision
  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 796
    • spinalcode
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2007, 07:27:39 PM »
Updated, see first post.

Offline warioswoods

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2007, 08:22:56 AM »
Am I using the pixel-fixer incorrectly?  I have three different stuck pixels on my DS-Lite (which is maybe 3 months old at most), and have positioned the tiny blinking pixel over one, left it until the battery actually ran out, and it never fixed it.  Tried it on another, same result.  What should I try to do differently?

Offline spinal

  • Coder of DSision
  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 796
    • spinalcode
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2007, 05:50:28 PM »
In a lot of cases, trying to fix the pixels might not work, the idea is that flickering between colours rapidly, will coax the pixel into working again. Are you sure they're stuck pixels (always a single colour) and not dead pixels (never on). I'm sorry to say that you may not be able to fix them.

Offline warioswoods

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DiagnoSe
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2007, 01:07:24 AM »
They are certainly stuck rather than dead, since all three of them are a very bright purple-ish color.  I guess I'll try it one more time and then give up on it - I quickly forget that those pixels are even there, except when there happens to be an all-white screen and they become more apparent.  In the cases where the rapid color cycling does work, how long does it usually take?  I don't know whether to leave it there for an hour or just 10 minutes on a pixel before deciding that it will not succeed.