Author Topic: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?  (Read 11258 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sturmen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
  • Fear me.
    • Sturmen's Site
Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« on: January 18, 2009, 02:53:18 AM »
Dr.neo, what's the deal with this R6? Is it really DSi compatible? And what's the thingy that has the plug?

Buy from these websites!
DealExtreme or Play-Asia

Offline spinal

  • Coder of DSision
  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
    • spinalcode
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2009, 08:14:01 AM »
hehe, weird,

This thing?


Looks like some sort of usb adaptor to me. What is it Dr Neo?

Offline borgqueenx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2009, 01:32:08 AM »
i'd also would like to know if it is DSI compatible.

becouse i wanna have the DSi, but not if R6 or other cardsa are not working.

Offline check

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2009, 10:06:14 PM »
Just got my new R6 Gold.

Neo what do i tell my costumers about this thing ?
Is it realy working on DSi ?
Do i need to buy some Flat cable and USB unit for using this ?

I have 2 different USB JTAG for update but non of the Flat cable is wide enough.

Is it the USB updater for the Wii mod D2SUN ?


Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2009, 12:47:31 AM »
yes the upgrade convertor is for new R6, and it use NDP to upgrade the ACTEL chip



but now we don't release the R6i ACTEL core yet, because the current R6 just have 8M bit flash size, but at this moment we need 128Mbit big menu size,seems we have to release a new cart for DSi, until we compress the menu to make it fit with 8Mbit.
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline sturmen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
  • Fear me.
    • Sturmen's Site
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2009, 05:31:57 AM »
I'm so proud of myself for understanding that. :P

Buy from these websites!
DealExtreme or Play-Asia

Offline check

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2009, 08:08:47 AM »
Ok as i understand, we have noting to use the ting for atm. maybe some day if the code is getting small enough.


Dam, i have JTAG for ARGON and D2Pro but not the one NEO made for the D2Sun.

Funny 3 team make JTAG unit but all use different size flat cable.

Will i be able to solder one of my other JTAG to the thing for new R6 Gold (solder is not a problem)


Is this a bug on the new R6 ?

I run selfburn, take out R6 Gold, and in the sec. i plug in the R6 Gold i want to program DS restart and end up in DS menu.

So its not possible to recover the new R6  Gold with other Slot1 cart because of the restart at insert new Gold cart.

Cant we use selfburn on the new R6 Gold for recover anymore, ore do we have to buy the SMS ?

« Last Edit: March 17, 2009, 09:16:36 AM by check »

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2009, 05:49:02 PM »
the current R6 and new R6 all are bug free, just menu size is not enough.

and you can run the selfburn APP from any cart (not R6 only), then replace the R6 to DS and press A to start to upgrade, SMS is not the only way.
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline check

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2009, 10:11:38 PM »
NEO what happen to the new R6 Gold ?

Out of 10 i got

5 cant eject MicroSD (Need something to take it out)
2 Cant insert MicroSD (something is blocking)
1 Scanning..... (try 5+ times)

So out of 10 cart i can sell 2 :'(

Next 10 cart i try 4 working. :'(

So out of 20 i can sell 6 R6Gold :'(

Some of them are hard to get in and out of NDS, as if they are not assembled properly, it can be done by pressing the card all around.

Dam waited 2 month on this order and had all kind of trouble with IC2005 ::sm-02::, and now more trouble ::sm-02::.


If reset DS after insert R6Gold at bootstrap menu is not a bug, then we now need SMS for getting a fail update R6Gold back running.
The swap Trix don't work on New R6Gold.

NEO try out the swap with the new R6 Gold and selfburn, you cant do it this way with the new cart.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2009, 11:49:07 PM by check »

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2009, 11:44:23 PM »
if so, i think u need the SMS to help your upgrade R6.
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline check

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2009, 12:14:18 AM »
Ok
I know i can read firmware out of a working R6 with SMS but lets say i only have one cart and i screw the firmware, i buy SMS and cant read out the firmware from the screwd card.
where to find firmware for SMS and R6 ?


The NDSL restart at insert new R6 Gold, Is this in the Actel firmware ore in the SPI firmware ore Hardware ?
Other words can it be fixed with a new selfburn, ore is it Actel ore hardware related ?


Ill test the rest of the new R6 Gold over the next few days. (cant eject, Cant insert, Scanning.....)

Hope im getting a better working rate then 6 out of 20, and hope it wont take 2-4 month to get em replaced at IC2005.

The R6 Silver i have 1 out of 30 cart not working, selfburn fail to program 3x in a row fail on verifying.

Blue LED ON all the time
Is this a bug ore are the New R6 Gold just with LED ON ?

SMS and Actel ?
Is it posible to update Actel firmware with SMS ?
« Last Edit: March 18, 2009, 12:35:12 AM by check »

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2009, 01:41:40 AM »
Quote
where to find firmware for SMS and R6 ?

here you are
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline check

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2009, 02:18:02 AM »
Think i figure out why it wont eject.

The top plastic Shel is to thick.

New R6 Gold = 2.55 mm
R6 Silver = 2.40 mm

If i open up one of the R6 Gold wont eject, then it eject fine with no plastic case, but with plastic case back on it wont eject.

I just grind some of the plastic away and now it eject fine.
The memory chip on MicroSD is on the back of MicroSD, dont think youre designer think about this on the new Shel for R6 Gold and made a toooo close fit :/

After i have grind all those wont eject, i have 2 wont eject (the 2 (something is blocking)) and 2 scanning....

This is a problem with the plastic case of the new R6 Gold.

In the middle the one i grind and eject 100% ok
Top and bottom is stock not modify


Edit:
Ok i find a easy way to get rid of this problem.

the GND for the TF Slot, need to be lifted just a little bit.

Heat on one side and lift TF slot, then heat on other side and lift this side.
Now it eject fine.

This require you can solder :D
« Last Edit: March 18, 2009, 08:35:27 AM by check »

Offline check

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2009, 02:47:06 AM »
here you are

Thx mate.
So this will be the same as the one in selfburn 2.0091 ?

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: Is the R6 Gold on DealExtreme really DSi compatible?
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2009, 01:49:14 AM »
Thx mate.
So this will be the same as the one in selfburn 2.0091 ?

yes it's same.
and i'll check the case issue.
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......