Author Topic: You Have To Burn The Rope DS  (Read 21321 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LaPatateInc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
You Have To Burn The Rope DS
« on: August 03, 2009, 02:42:38 AM »
Nickname: LaPatateInc
Project name : You Have To Burn The Rope DS
From : Canada (Quebec)
Division : NDS/GBA GAME
Original entry : YES
Support Motion : NO, unfortunatly.
In last NEO Compo this project have won in the top 10 : NO

Screenshots :
     

August 19th :
REAL Download Link : http://www.mediafire.com/?ddtjsdxnalz
August 18th:
French Download Link : http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?jiz1zhoxkkn
The french download is a Kit with No$Gba with default language set up in French. I'm french by nature, this is why I decided to traduce it. :)
You need to update the .NDS in the french pack with the Aug. 19th one.

MAJOR UPDATE

Changelog :
----------------------------=============================----------------------------
-6 new mods
  =>27-Seconds timer.              -- 0 Achievements
  =>Having a pistol instead of axes.        -- 5 Achievements
  =>Low Gravity               -- 5 Achievements
  =>Automatic walking            -- 10 Achievements
  =>Olympic mod ( Really fun =D )      -- 12 Achievements   NOTE : DESACTIVATE ALL OTHER MODS
  =>Secret AWESOME mod, find how to activate it   -- 5 Achievements       NOTE : DESACTIVATE ALL OTHER MODS
-A new special achievement : Chassing those stars.
  => You need to collect 5 stars all scaterred around the "world".

-Various bugfixes, majority of them are graphical-only. These are being fixed :
  =>Walking backward while being hit.
  =>Gravity not being correct when being hit.
  =>Passing through wall when super-jump and hyperspeed was activated.
  =>Some other I don't remember.
----------------------------=============================----------------------------

Description:
It's a remake of the famous game on PC, You Have To Burn The Rope. Originaly, the game is pretty simple and take no time to finish it. What I wanted to do is recreate this game with additionnal functions to add some replayability :
-A map on the top screen or Double-Screen
-16 achievements
-16 game modificators
-You can skip the ending video
-A main menu and a pause button.
-You can move camera a little using the Touch Screen.

Controls are shown in-game, except for the camera.
I'm really, really sorry, but I couldn't add saving because it didn't work on a real DS. The library is kind of broken. I've done a "quick save" so that when you succeed 5,10 and All achievements, it gives you a code to write down. If you do this, even if you do achievements, it won't add to your total. The purpose of this code is only that you won't need to re-do achievements if you want to play a Modificator.
Oh, did I said you need a number of achivement to unlock mods ?
Mods are pretty fun, I think. Some achievements are disabled when activated, some are needed to have an achievement.
A page shows you all the achievements names, it's up to you to discover how to do it. Some are fun, some are tough =D

There may be some glitches but it shouldn't. I know there is some graphical one that I can't really fix...
I would like some feedback right in this topic.
I hope everyone will like the game !


Cheat sheet (hehe) :

* Difficulty is between one and five dancing penguin.
** The small part under each comment is a hint for the achievement. Sure finding the achievement yourself will bring more proudness.
*** It's now a race. Send me the code in a PM. The first one to complete all achievement gets....huh... a hug.

#1 -  Where should I go ?
Difficulty : :) :)
Comments : Finding it is the hardest part.
 You are so lost that you don't know what to do

#2 -  Touch Me, Touch Me, I wanna feel your body.
Difficulty : :)
Comment : So easy
 Only the first 4 words are important

#3 -  Madness ? This... Is... SPARTHA !
Difficulty : :) :) :) :) :)
Comments : I had to do it a couple of times myself
 Do something that is almost impossible. You will have to try a lot of times

#4 -  Oh ! I saw something over here !
Difficulty : :) :)
Comments : Not so hard. You just need to find what to do.
 But finaly, there were nothing. Why did you go there anyway ?

#5 -  DIE ! DIE ! DIE !
Difficulty : :) :) :) :)
Comments : Hard to find, kind of.
 You want that boss to die. Even with your small size. Even if he is already dead.

#6 -  Where are they coming from ?
Difficulty : :) :)
Comments : You could find it yourself, or completely randomly by playing a couple of times.
 You always use them, but you are wondering if there is an ending to those.

#7 -  There is no turning back.`
Difficulty :  :-*
Comments : My friend's idea of achievement. It's a fun one.
 ...now that it's sealed

#8 -  I can't see it from here !
Difficulty : :) :)
Comments : Not hard to do, hard to find. Maybe randomly too. That's why it's only 2 penguins.
 Even if the Grinning Collosus is tall.

#9 - At least you tried...
Difficulty : :) :)
Comments : I really like this one. Just try something and it may work. Or randomly too.
 You were wondering if it could be killed by another way

#10 - Ouch ! That must hurt !
Difficulty : :) :) :) :)
Comments : Findable. But you have to know...
 Does this hat bring me invincibility ? It seems my head can never break.

#11 - BATHROOOOOOOM !
Difficulty : :) :)
Comments : Kind of easy. And fun.
 Just pause the game so you can finally go to the bathroom !

#12 - ARG ! THOSE PLATFORMS !
Difficulty :  >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D
Comments : I was searching for a name for this achievement. It came out when I actually tried to do it. It came out to be extremely hard. 5 penguins is a bit low.
 I thought calling it "Let's light up some light" or "I see so much nothing around here".

#13 - Left And Right Confusion.
Difficulty : :) :)
Comments : I wanted to do : "You are playing on a emulator, don't you ?" And do "Press Left and Right at the same time". But it's DS-Impossible.
 Have you tried mods yet ?

#14 - You never played right ?
Difficulty : :) :) :)
Comments : Pretty fun.
 What would you do to win if you never knew You Had To Burn The Rope ?

#15 - This is what I call timing.
Difficulty : :) :) :) :)
Comments : Hard to do. I really like the concept of this one.
 You cannot do it by playing only one time. Two times should be enough, if you have Timing

#16 - Chassing those stars
Difficulty : :) :) :)
Comments : It's suposed to be easy to find what to do, now find the stars. Thanks Franz24, I liked your idea.
You need to move the camera to find them


COMPLETLY SPOILED ACHIEVEMENTS :

#1 -  Where should I go ?
 Don't move for 1 minute

#2 -  Touch Me, Touch Me, I wanna feel your body.
 Touch your character

#3 -  Madness ? This... Is... SPARTHA !
 Pass the game with or under 27 seconds... Try again, it's possible

#4 -  Oh ! I saw something over here !
 Go to the farthest corner of the game.

#5 -  DIE ! DIE ! DIE !
 Hit the boss while he is dead in Mini Mod.

#6 -  Where are they coming from ?
 Use a lot of axes. 200 I think.

#7 -  There is no turning back.
 Try to go back to the beggining while the door is closed

#8 -  I can't see it from here !
 Kill the Grinning Collosus, but stay High so you can't see him.

#9 - At least you tried...
 Try to burn the Grinning Collosus... Yeah, it does not work.

#10 - Ouch ! That must hurt !
 Hurt your head a lot of times on the ceiling.

#11 - BATHROOOOOOOM !
 Stay 1 min 30 in pause. :)

#12 - ARG ! THOSE PLATFORMS !
 Burn the Rope with Black-Out and No-Map mod. It's Freaking hard.

#13 - Left And Right Confusion.
 Pass the game with Inversed Mod.

#14 - You never played right ?
 Keep the boss' life low for a time.

#15 - This is what I call timing.
Pass the game 2 times with the same time, EX: Pass the game at 30 seconds the second and the third time, or the first and the second, but not the first and the third.

#16 - Chassing those stars
Find the stars in the stage. There are 5, won't tell them where they are, but you ALWAYS need to move the camera.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2009, 08:42:38 AM by LaPatateInc »

Offline Franz24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2009, 05:58:40 AM »
Looks awesome, gonna check it out! ~sm-37.gif~

Offline s_hansse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2009, 03:35:48 AM »
may you fix the graphic error by cleaning the textbackground.
It looks like you use one background for text and for a normal one.

Offline LaPatateInc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2009, 05:06:20 AM »
may you fix the graphic error by cleaning the textbackground.
It looks like you use one background for text and for a normal one.

I don't understand exactly what you mean here.
They are supposed to be separated.
Where/When exactly does this occur ?
What does it do when it has the error ?
How did you knew it was an error ?

The graphicals glitches I was talking was only with Sprites. The grinning collosus is made of 4 sprites, when scrolling a bit up and down with the Map on Top screen, a part of his head can disapear. But I can't do anything =/

Offline s_hansse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2009, 05:30:06 PM »
Well, when I win the game and double touch the screen, It looks horrible! You can't read any text.
I belive this error occurres when you load a normal background on a text background.

But it's only a suppose...

Offline LaPatateInc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2009, 09:19:47 PM »
Well, when I win the game and double touch the screen, It looks horrible! You can't read any text.
I belive this error occurres when you load a normal background on a text background.

But it's only a suppose...

It's so freaking true. I will try to fix it right now.
It worked pretty good before though. The last thing I added was the splash screen, so it must have something to do with.
Oh, I think I updated Palib too...

Edit : It seems like it switches the text when re-initing. Even though it's really on bottom screen that I show text.
#2 : OH NOOOEESS, IT CRASHES WHEN YOU WANT TO PLAY AGAIN.  :'(
#3 : I updated devkit. It's even worst, I can load the single game. This is purely... sick... For now, I added the old version to the first post. It does not have the Neo Splash screen, but it works perfectly =/
ARRGG. Why isn't it working ? :'(
#4 : BIGGEST EDIT EVER : It works.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2009, 07:45:54 AM by LaPatateInc »

Offline M. Lucanius

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Sola Scriptura
    • visit Wretched!
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2009, 01:09:40 AM »
Quote from: LaPatateInc
OH MY...

Hey, please do not use God's name that way.

Did you use the splash code on day 22 of PAlib's wiki? I especially like the first alternate... well, that's probably because it's the one I wrote. It's cut-and-paste ready. and operates as a function. You set the backgrounds outside of it and it's ready to go. You can call it as many times as you like. I should update it though. Also, a side note, setting the fade to 32 doesn't work; 16 is much better.
There are only 10 kinds of people in this world, those who know binary and those who don't.

Offline SwedishFish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2009, 09:17:56 AM »
hmmm please fix the errors after the game resets. 

credits kinda remind me of portal.

keep up the good work

-the cake is a lie

Offline Franz24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2009, 03:16:41 AM »
it won't start here :( I'm using a R4 with YSmenu  ::sm-02::

Offline LaPatateInc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2009, 05:53:39 AM »
Hey, please do not use God's name that way.

Really sorry, I changed it immediatly when I read this. Sorry again.

Quote from: M.Lucanius
Did you use the splash code on day 22 of PAlib's wiki? I especially like the first alternate... well, that's probably because it's the one I wrote. It's cut-and-paste ready. and operates as a function. You set the backgrounds outside of it and it's ready to go. You can call it as many times as you like. I should update it though. Also, a side note, setting the fade to 32 doesn't work; 16 is much better.

No problems, I tried changing it and it looks better :)

hmmm please fix the errors after the game resets.

Damn. Still not working ? I'll check this right now. If it doesn't work at midnight here ( it's 17:52 now ), just pick the old version to play, which should be OK.

Quote from: SwedishFist
credits kinda remind me of portal.

I think it's exactly why I love this game :)

it won't start here :( I'm using a R4 with YSmenu  ::sm-02::

I don't know why it wouldn't work on your R4. I'm not used to those flashcards. Maybe it need some patch cause it's an homebrew ? It works perfectly on my CycloDS. Were you using the EFS one ? Try the other.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

As for news, my new version I tried this evening crash when the boss die... I really don't know what's happening  :'(
Maybe it needs more memory.

EDIT : BINGO !
It was a problem with showing/hiding BackGrounds. I will upload the new version soon. I will be testing a bit before<
P.S. It's 19:52
« Last Edit: August 10, 2009, 07:54:39 AM by LaPatateInc »

Offline jercos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS ( STABLE )
« Reply #10 on: August 11, 2009, 01:27:10 AM »
I would like to have a list of the achievements I have completed, rather than simply having a number, as apparently I am getting one achievement but not seeing the banner for it...

Plus a cheat sheet for the achievements would be nice too ;P

Offline LaPatateInc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS ( STABLE )
« Reply #11 on: August 11, 2009, 05:18:13 AM »
I would like to have a list of the achievements I have completed, rather than simply having a number, as apparently I am getting one achievement but not seeing the banner for it...

I may do something like putting an "X" beside a white square beside each achievements. I have until Aug.20th ;D

Plus a cheat sheet for the achievements would be nice too ;P

What do you mean by cheat sheet ?
I don't have enough combinations to do a code for every achievements...

Offline jercos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS ( STABLE )
« Reply #12 on: August 11, 2009, 08:56:23 PM »
What do you mean by cheat sheet ?
I don't have enough combinations to do a code for every achievements...

I meant a list of the achievements and a hint at how to get them. Spoilers, of a sort.

Offline LaPatateInc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS ( not so STABLE )
« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2009, 10:31:02 PM »
I meant a list of the achievements and a hint at how to get them. Spoilers, of a sort.

Yeah ! And why not post it right here !
Just copy the small part under the number of the achievement.
Seems like spoilers doesn't work here...
I added a difficulty too, so you can see if you want to find it yourself or use the cheat. If you want more help on a specific, I'm going to send more info on that one.

Edit : Moved cheat sheet to first post.

OH AND. By the way :
I did put an achievement marker when the achievevement is done. It's a really simple marker, FAR from perfect. But it does the job that it needs to do : Mark.
Send me feedback about this, I didn't tried all achievevements alone to see if marks are really at the good place. They should be though.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2009, 11:06:34 PM by LaPatateInc »

Offline jercos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: You Have To Burn The Rope DS ( STABLE AGAIN )
« Reply #14 on: August 12, 2009, 10:47:02 PM »
I have gotten #12 several times, each the same way... It seems I simply win the game upon hitting the far right wall with the proper mods... Is that intended?