Author Topic: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!  (Read 15644 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« on: July 30, 2010, 07:49:38 AM »
Thanks for your patience - here is the first release of the menu for the N64 Myth. Consider this a "basic" menu. Please read the readme.txt file included in the archive for installation instructions and usage. You will need the Neo2 Pro Manager to write the menu and to write roms to flash properly. For people with a Neo2-SD, you can load roms from SD/SDHC up to 16 MBytes. If you have a Neo2-Pro, you can load roms up to 32 MBytes from SD/SDHC.

Please report how it works (or doesn't) as we didn't have many people testing this. Conle managed to break his N64 Myth.  ^-^

Neo2 Pro Manager v1.0.3
« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 06:36:26 PM by ChillyWilly »

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 08:40:29 AM »
Finally!  :D

Quote
Please report how it works (or doesn't) as we didn't have many people testing this. Conle managed to break his N64 Myth.

Yeah since the 1st day actually  :( & i wont be able to test or contribute source for a few days until the new cart arrives  ~sm-70.gif~.gif

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2010, 08:57:45 AM »
Finally!  :D

Yeah since the 1st day actually  :( & i wont be able to test or contribute source for a few days until the new cart arrives  ~sm-70.gif~.gif

Gives you time to make notes on what you want to add to the menu.  :D

Offline stefan_iro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • It´s a me, Mario
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2010, 03:47:03 PM »
YES, that´s what I have been waiting for a long time ^^  ~sm-78.gif~.gif
Downloading now...

...Conle managed to break his N64 Myth.  ^-^

Neo2 Pro Manager v1.0.3

Wow, I better wait for some positive feedback before using the new menu!
-----------------------------------
8bit & 16bit
the golden age of videogames

Offline stefan_iro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • It´s a me, Mario
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2010, 04:06:57 PM »
NeoN64Menu v1.0 readme:
========================================================
Installation: Copy NEON64.v64 to where your N64 rom images are. In the
Neo2 Pro client on your PC, set the boot type to "TypeA-1: GBA Menu",
set the BIOS Path A-1 to the aforementioned NEON64.v64, then click "Burn"
to set the menu in the flash cart.

You could also write this menu into the N64 U2 flash by setting the boot
type to "TypeA-2: N64 Menu" and setting the BIOS Path A-2 to the menu
image. You want to avoid using the N64 menu as much as possible since
it cannot be replaced - once it goes bad, you cannot fix it short of
getting another N64 Myth.

========================================================

Does this mean, when I set the boot type to "TypeA-1: GBA Menu",
I can avoid to break my N64 Myth, because "TypeA-1: GBA Menu" is
restoreable while N64 U2 flash ("TypeA-2: N64 Menu") is not ?
-----------------------------------
8bit & 16bit
the golden age of videogames

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2010, 04:18:05 PM »
NeoN64Menu v1.0 readme:
========================================================
Installation: Copy NEON64.v64 to where your N64 rom images are. In the
Neo2 Pro client on your PC, set the boot type to "TypeA-1: GBA Menu",
set the BIOS Path A-1 to the aforementioned NEON64.v64, then click "Burn"
to set the menu in the flash cart.

You could also write this menu into the N64 U2 flash by setting the boot
type to "TypeA-2: N64 Menu" and setting the BIOS Path A-2 to the menu
image. You want to avoid using the N64 menu as much as possible since
it cannot be replaced - once it goes bad, you cannot fix it short of
getting another N64 Myth.

========================================================

Does this mean, when I set the boot type to "TypeA-1: GBA Menu",
I can avoid to break my N64 Myth, because "TypeA-1: GBA Menu" is
restoreable while N64 U2 flash ("TypeA-2: N64 Menu") is not ?

( A )"TypeA-1: GBA Menu" configures the core to boot the menu from GBA Menu Area just like any other myth cart(md/snes..).
( B )"TypeA-2:  N64 Menu" configures the core to boot the menu from the U2 chip which if you abuse with burns the whole N64 myth can break  :-[

Just do "#A" and your myth will never throw fireworks  ::sm-05::  :)

ps--Actually , don't even try A-2 menu for testing , or if you do , make sure to delete the path from the configuration field because the programmer will
write the u2 menu every time you format the cart.
 
« Last Edit: July 30, 2010, 04:22:10 PM by Conle »

Offline ronaldo_76

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2010, 05:48:58 PM »
i'm waiting

when i can break my myth i don't use the menu
but good work chilly and all other...

i don't understand all, my english is to bad.
but thats not a good info :(

i don't want to loose the cart.

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2010, 05:50:06 PM »
YES, that´s what I have been waiting for a long time ^^  ~sm-78.gif~.gif
Downloading now...

Wow, I better wait for some positive feedback before using the new menu!

 ~sm-79.gif~.gif

Conle broke his N64 Myth LONG before I even started on the menu - he physically broke it - he broke off the USB connector. The menu will not break your N64 Myth.  ^-^

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2010, 06:03:40 PM »
i'm waiting

when i can break my myth i don't use the menu
but good work chilly and all other...

i don't understand all, my english is to bad.
but thats not a good info :(

i don't want to loose the cart.

~sm-34.gif~   ~sm-34.gif~
The menu cannot damage your cart unless maybe IF you burn the menu on the U2 chip 80~100times(?) that's why burn it as TYPE A-1 which is the same as with md/snes myth.
My myth's port had been broken long time ago(Remember that screenshot i posted at testers thread with the n64 myth + broken connector?) but without USB port its
impossible to configure the core.That's all  :P

 :)
« Last Edit: July 30, 2010, 06:05:27 PM by Conle »

Offline ronaldo_76

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2010, 06:14:28 PM »
this part in the nfo, has made me afraid: "you cannot fix it short of getting another N64 Myth."  ~sm-66.gif~.gif

i will test the menu later... if i have time for it, now I have to cook!  ~sm-59.gif~.gif ~sm-59.gif~.gif ~sm-59.gif~.gif

and conle, do not kill me with the pinguins...  :P  :( ~sm-62.gif~.gif

 :)

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2010, 06:23:18 PM »
this part in the nfo, has made me afraid: "you cannot fix it short of getting another N64 Myth."  ~sm-66.gif~.gif

i will test the menu later... if i have time for it, now I have to cook!  ~sm-59.gif~.gif ~sm-59.gif~.gif ~sm-59.gif~.gif

and conle, do not kill me with the pinguins...  :P  :( ~sm-62.gif~.gif

 :)

Yes , maybe that part of the read me together with a few other things/reasons confused some people.  ~sm-64.gif~.gif
The funny thing is , that ChillyWilly wanted people to test his menu and the progress of this thread is way off the plan.   ~sm-82.gif~.gif

Quote
and conle, do not kill me with the pinguins...  :P  :( ~sm-62.gif~.gif

Hmmm  ~sm-72.gif~.gif  ~sm-72.gif~.gif ... OK  ;D


Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2010, 06:38:28 PM »
Flash memory should be good for at least a thousand writes. You shouldn't use it like a harddrive, but it's safe enough to write on occasion. If you're so worried about writing the U2 (which you SHOULD be worried at least a little - a little fear is a healthy thing... keeps you from acting stupidly), then don't write the menu to the U2 flash, write it to the GBA menu flash as the instructions tell you to. Anyway, I've written the U2 in my N64 Myth a couple dozen times, and it's still fine. So writing it once is very unlikely to cause a problem. It's like updating the firmware on the PSP or PS3 - there's a chance it will brick, but it's a very small chance - small enough that most folks never even think about it.

So what's an advantage of putting the menu in the N64 Myth U2 flash? It allows you to use the menu with any card without needing to write the menu to the card. It also allows you to reset to the menu - when you boot from the GBA menu flash, rebooting does NOT go back to the GBA menu flash. You HAVE to turn off the N64 and turn it back on to get to the menu.

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2010, 07:31:57 PM »
CW, the U2 can guarantee 10000 times re-programm at least  ~sm-79.gif~.gif
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2010, 07:48:34 PM »
What shall I put in boot cic? Do I have to set it to the same cic as the cart that is plugged in at the back of the N64 Myth?

First tests results:
I burned the Menu to N64Menu. Reset to Menu works.

- Loading times:
64Mbit(WR64): 52s
96Mbit(MK64): 1m 18s
128Mbit(MT64): 1m 44s
256Mbit: / (needs Neo2 Pro)

- Neo2 Pro Manager reports "Old version or invalid NEO2 menu type! Please take a format" after burning the menu to N64Menu, playing with it on the N64 and replugging the cart to the pc again.

- If I burn boot cic to 6105 to test if that changes anything, next time I load Neo2 Pro Manager it's set to 6106 and also menu does not boot. With my Z64 the bootemulator also only works with a 6102 as base so it could just be the normal behaviour of the software boot emulator.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 04:53:34 PM by sanni »

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Re: NeoN64Menu v1.0... finally!
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2010, 01:20:01 AM »
Yes, like virtually all N64 homebrew, the menu uses a "standard" 6102 startup. There has been some discussion about being able to change that, but you'd have to reburn the menu any time you change the boot startup.

It's not the card plugged into the Myth that matters, but what you set the boot cic to. For example, you can put a 6105 cart in the slot, set the boot cic to 6102, and still boot the menu (I've tried it). The Myth hardware emulates the cic based on the boot cic setting. It needs a real cic chip of SOME kind, but it doesn't need one specific type.

Where the specific type of cic comes in is games that look for the specific cic AFTER they are started. If a game looks for a 6105 after boot as further copy protection, that's where having a 6105 cic cart plugged into the back and setting the cic mode for the game to ext cart comes in.

Now there are patches made for some of those games. If you patch the game, then it really wouldn't matter at all. Perhaps that's the best option.

By the way, if you boot from the Myth U2 flash, setting the BIOS Path A-1 to the MD or SNES menu binary makes the cart dual purpose. The cart will boot from the Path A-2 on the N64, and from the Path A-1 on the SNES or MD Myth.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2010, 01:23:36 AM by ChillyWilly »