Author Topic: Neo N64 Menu v1.4S  (Read 23441 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Neo N64 Menu v1.4S
« on: August 02, 2010, 08:21:36 AM »
Please get the new menu v1.6

Old message:
This is a new GUI style for Chillywilly's Neo N64 Myth Menu 1.4 ~sm-67.gif~.gif
Read the included readme for details.  ::sm-26.gif::

 Neo N64 Myth Menu 1.4S (SD) (unofficial)
------------------------------------

Please read original readme in /src first.
This needs the original 1.4 menu already flashed to the N64 Myth U2.

Install notes:
Copy directory ".menu" to root of SD card

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!USE AT OWN RISK!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1.4S Changes:
- now based on chillywilly's 1.4 menu
- //scode tags in source code where I altered it
- more and bigger boxarts (about 300, 4x the size)
- boxarts now load from SD
- if game is not found in database, default save option will be MEMPAK
  meaning you most likely need a Mempak to save.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2010, 12:55:54 AM by sanni »

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Re: Neo N64 Menu 1.1S (SD) (unofficial) - auto save/cic config
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2010, 08:58:10 AM »
That's why open source can be so good - someone can come along and add something to makes things a little better.
 ~sm-56.gif~.gif

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: Neo N64 Menu 1.1S (SD) (unofficial) - auto save/cic config
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2010, 11:31:44 AM »
yes exactly!  ~sm-54.gif~.gif ~sm-54.gif~.gif ~sm-54.gif~.gif
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Neo N64 Menu 1.1S (SD) (unofficial) - auto save/cic config
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2010, 12:43:34 PM »
Cool  :D
Now you can see the power of ext bios loading  ;D

Offline stefan_iro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • It´s a me, Mario
Re: Neo N64 Menu 1.1S (SD) (unofficial) - auto save/cic config
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2010, 01:48:51 PM »
Changes from original menu:
- starts in SD browser mode
- options enabled by default
- auto cic and save configuration (not all rom settings included yet)

Is it also possible to start the flash mode for those who don´t own a Neo2 Pro card?
Auto CIC and Save configuration is a very nice feature ^^

Many Thanks!
-----------------------------------
8bit & 16bit
the golden age of videogames

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Re: Neo N64 Menu 1.1S (SD) (unofficial) - auto save/cic config
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2010, 05:50:44 PM »
Try this, it needs to be flashed to the gba carts menu.
I did not test this one, so be carefull:
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 03:40:57 AM by sanni »

Offline stefan_iro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • It´s a me, Mario
Re: Neo N64 Menu 1.1S (SD) (unofficial) - auto save/cic config
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2010, 01:53:11 AM »
Try this, it needs to be flashed to the gba carts menu.
I did not test this one, so be carefull:

I will test it when I receive my updated N64 Myth!  ~sm-55.gif~.gif  ~sm-74.gif~.gif
-----------------------------------
8bit & 16bit
the golden age of videogames

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
New version is out  >:D

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
just post this great news to the homepage!  ~sm-35.gif~
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Found a bug  ~sm-67.gif~.gif
Quote
               if(overflowControl != 1)
               {
                  // load boxart sprite into memory
                  dfs_init(0xB0101000);
                  sprintf(temp, "/%c%c.sprite", gTable[bselect].rom[0x1C], gTable[bselect].rom[0x1D]);
                  int fp = dfs_open(temp);
                  boxart = malloc(dfs_size(fp));
                  dfs_read(boxart, 1, dfs_size(fp), fp);
                  dfs_close(fp);
                  overflowControl = 1;
               }

You don't seem to free the buffer and you keep allocating until the flag is on.
You can just allocate a single box art when entering the main entry point.
Then , since the size if fixed , you can just copy only the pixels of the entry to your image and sync the screen.

Also don't init / destroy the fs on each event  ~sm-46.gif~.gif
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 02:29:55 PM by Conle »

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Found a bug  ~sm-67.gif~.gif
You don't seem to free the buffer and you keep allocating until the flag is on.
You can just allocate a single box art when entering the main entry point.
Then , since the size if fixed , you can just copy only the pixels of the entry to your image and sync the screen.

Also don't init / destroy the fs on each event  ~sm-46.gif~.gif

In the future I want to display mulitple boxarts, thats why I allocate memory for every boxart.

Also posted a new version where I removed the  dfs_init(0xB0101000); among other things.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 10:10:06 PM by sanni »

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
In the future I want to display mulitple boxarts, thats why I allocate memory for every boxart.

Also posted a new version where I removed the  dfs_init(0xB0101000); among other things.

Yes , but when you have like 200-300box arts are you sitll going to do that?  Because that's 10 ~ 15MB and even with the expansion pack you can't reach that far ^-^
If you really have there up to 100covers if you scroll through all entries that are  linked with boxart sprites the menu will either crash or will corrupt the memory or both  ~sm-82.gif~.gif

...If you want to upload that much data without worrying about allocations just use the psram(256Mb on Neo2SDPro  8) ) :)

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Ok your're right. I think I will go with one boxart, but in higher resolution.
So I setup a malloc outside the while(1) thingie and then just update the image while browsing to another game.
Just need to find out to draw sprites without malloc.

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Remember that you have a max of 2MBytes of space in the U2 flash, and only 1.8 MBytes of space in the gba menu flash. Realistically, you'll only be able to do all the box art for the SD menu. For the others, you should include only the artwork for the roms burned to flash. Ideally, the Neo2 Pro Manager client would burn the art work at the same time as the rom in a particular place the menu would know about.

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Oh no, I thought I had 4MB in U2, but you're right, there are only 2MB there  :'(

What cart had a 4Mb menu? Or did I completely remember it wrong?
The menu right now is 1,7MB.

I now have 700KB for 100 boxarts and it want to double their size(128px instead of 64px). So I can not have more than 100 boxarts.
Loading the menu permanently from SD is not feasible since it takes to long to load after each reset.

So either I get a cart with a bigger menu flash or I load the boxarts from SD.
How hard is it to code a function that loads the boxarts from SD?