Author Topic: Neo N64 Menu v1.8  (Read 14030 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« on: August 22, 2010, 06:50:31 AM »
Not much to this update. It fixes the problem CIC-6105 games had in detecting the memory expansion pak. Now games like Perfect Dark will properly detect the expansion pak and utilize it. Games that require it, like Donkey Kong 64, now run fine. You still need hacks for Banjo Tooie and Jet Force Gemini since they look for the CIC-6105 chip while running.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2010, 08:52:18 AM by ChillyWilly »

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 12:05:37 PM »
JFG should be a real nightmare to patch via software  ~sm-73.gif~.gif   ...I hope BT just does some checks on startup  ::sm-01:: 

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2010, 04:06:20 PM »
Consider your hopes destroyed  ::sm-16.gif::
Banjo Tooie seems to be Rares masterpiece when it comes to copy protection. It's the only uncracked N64 game.
But since it runs on emulators there must be a way, but most likely that way would need to be implemented in the core and not the menu.
Either that or developing a crack. So just using a 6105 bootcart might be the best solution.
There is a crack for JFG here: http://64scener0.tripod.com/cracks.htm so JFG should be not to much trouble.

Offline Nekojin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2010, 10:58:53 PM »
JFG should be a real nightmare to patch via software  ~sm-73.gif~.gif   ...I hope BT just does some checks on startup  ::sm-01::

Banjo Tooie also checks for the CIC while playing. The only thing that I found out, is that it is completely random. After you completet the tutorial part, the game will randomly freeze if you are using a different CIC and Save Type. I tried this on my V64 jr. Playing with DK as bootcartridge worked fine, however it did not work if using Zelda OOT.

I can remeber that there was some kind of crack for BT on dextrose but only for the US version of the game. I also remember having troubles with the Pal M5 release, even when I used DK as Bootgame, the game crashed randomly. However, the Australian version worked fine.

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2010, 12:18:06 AM »
Sanni , this crack is in form of save file and its only for the z64 , but wouldn't hurt to extract the patch file and dump the offsets:data pairs ^-^

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2010, 03:03:12 AM »
The APS file is the crack, you only need the ram file for the Z64.
The V64(jr) and CD64 can play JFG without the savefile. The readme states that you even can save on flashram or sram if you have the right cart.
Just be sure to convert the rom to z64 format(e.g. with R-Tool) before you apply the patch(e.g. with APS-O-LUTE V1.0) and revert it back to v64 before you burn it. Also in the menu change the cic to 6102.
I just tested it and I can run/shoot/jump but saving does not work with Wave Race as bootcart.

So if one could remove the savecrack it would work. But that might be just to much hassle only to save the 5 bucks a 6105 bootcart would cost.

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2010, 05:05:33 AM »
Yes , i know about this crack since i already have dumped what it writes and where : http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php/topic,5925.msg43246.html#msg43246

But like i said , we have to figure out which of those affect the Z64 sram patching , which of those are related with DX logo , and which of those patch the instructions(What we want)...So
its a very troublesome thing to do and when you can get a cart with 6105 chip for just a few $ it has very low priority for now.And its just 2 games  ::sm-11.gif::

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2010, 07:08:22 AM »
The issue is you can't run the menu with a 6105 cart on the pass-through. The menu is 6102 based. I tried to make a 6105 based menu, but it doesn't work for some reason.

So if you want to run one of the 6105 games that NEEDS the 6105 cart, you have to burn the game to flash in the "old" mode without a menu.

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2010, 02:52:22 PM »
I made a working 6105 version of your 1.7 menu here but thats not needed anymore: http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=6285.0;attach=2614 (also included a readme how I done it).

6105 games that need the 6105 cart are working fine with the normal 6102 menu. Just select cic=6105 and not cic=cart in game options and have a real 6105 plugged in.
The bootemulator only works for the bootsequence, after that the only cic that is visible to the game is the real cic in the back of the the myth.
I tested this with Jet Force Gemini and Banjo Tooie.

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2010, 04:38:50 PM »
Ah - that's good to know... for people who need that.  :D

Offline Aleomark

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
  • Just a gamer!
    • El otro lado
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2010, 02:39:19 AM »
I've a problem with neo geon evangelion 64, I change it from .z64 to .v64 with ucon64,then I burned to neo2 sd flash memory, CIC 6102 eeprom 16kb, after defeat the firts enemy I got a error screen saying "ee-prom file no located" or something like that.

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2010, 02:46:34 AM »
Have you tried with test version of 1.9?

Offline Aleomark

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
  • Just a gamer!
    • El otro lado
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2010, 02:52:02 AM »
I will  ~sm-92.gif~.gif

Offline bidou670

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
  • NEO newbie
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2010, 03:19:49 AM »
yes if you want i test the 1.9 menu with pleasure but i have not the file link  for 1.9 ?

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Neo N64 Menu v1.8
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2010, 03:27:48 AM »
yes if you want i test the 1.9 menu with pleasure but i have not the file link  for 1.9 ?

http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php/topic,6298.msg47992.html#msg47992