Author Topic: games freeze when selected on main menu NEO PCE  (Read 5136 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline skwatter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • NEO newbie
games freeze when selected on main menu NEO PCE
« on: December 25, 2010, 09:29:13 AM »
Okay, I got past the whole driver issue but now I can't seem to get any rom to run off this card.
Every rom I put on there always freezes at the main menu and doesn't load.
I made sure that the PCE region said USA as I have a turbo grafx.

Any help?

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: games freeze when selected on main menu NEO PCE
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2010, 07:59:08 PM »
Did you removed the so called "SNES header" ?  ~sm-64.gif~.gif

Offline skwatter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • NEO newbie
Re: games freeze when selected on main menu NEO PCE
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2010, 04:42:43 AM »
No, I've never heard of such a thing.
I tried googling NEO PCE SNES HEADER but couldn't find anything.
How would I go about doing this and would it help do you think?

Sorry for the late reply!

Merry Christmas!

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: games freeze when selected on main menu NEO PCE
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2010, 02:43:59 PM »
I've made a simple console app that removes the header automatically...I'll release it later today.  ~sm-55.gif~.gif

Edit -> http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php/topic,6438.0.html
« Last Edit: December 27, 2010, 07:32:31 PM by Conle »

Offline skwatter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • NEO newbie
Re: games freeze when selected on main menu NEO PCE
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2010, 04:10:34 AM »
to run the program do I just click and drag the .pce file and place it on the .exe?
I tried doing that, A console came up for a second then disappeared.  The ,pce file still sasy it was only modified back in 1997.

any Help?

Thanks!

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1753
  • Just a coding machine.
Re: games freeze when selected on main menu NEO PCE
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2010, 05:20:13 AM »
You run a console app in the command shell. You give the name of the console app followed by any arguments... in this case, probably the name of the file to strip. Usually just giving the name of the app will make the app print the usage line in the shell.

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: games freeze when selected on main menu NEO PCE
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2010, 03:04:01 PM »
to run the program do I just click and drag the .pce file and place it on the .exe?

If you look at the usage field , you have to run the app within command shell or a simple batch file(windows) with 2 arguments:
1)The sourfe filename
2)The output filename

So , you simply do : rm_pceheader.exe sourcefile.pce destfile.pce

And you will get destfile.pce.
Of course ,if the rom doesn't contain header , you'll get a warning message and the rom will not get patched  ::sm-26.gif::

Usually just giving the name of the app will make the app print the usage line in the shell.
Exactly! I always follow this "standard"  8)

Offline smiff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • NEO newbie
Re: games freeze when selected on main menu NEO PCE
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2011, 12:45:39 AM »
Hello,

i have a scart RGB + region modded PC-Engine DUO-R and i had this problem first (menu freeze on game load), so i have used Conle's tool that remove snes header from roms.
I do use japanese version of games and select JAPAN in Neo Game Manager.

After that, games (titles looks a bit strange in the menu when patched) no longer freeze the menu but turn into white screen and nothing happens, i'm affraid to start guess that my console is somewhat incompatible with NEO NEO Power PC-E 128M+SAVE super flash cart :/

I wish to do some test on a standard PC-Engine but i don't have one.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 04:14:31 AM by smiff »

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: games freeze when selected on main menu NEO PCE
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2011, 08:34:33 PM »
I don't have a pce/pce cart , but , i think that you should try to set the switch to the default region , then in the programmer set the original region of your console and burn some
games...

In other words : do a test without using the extended region capabilities of your modded console ....
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 08:37:23 PM by Conle »

Offline smiff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • NEO newbie
Re: games freeze when selected on main menu NEO PCE
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2011, 07:59:46 PM »
thank you for your suggestion,
i already did this with no success.
Well i can only blame myself, with my damned modded DUO-R ^^
I think that i will get a standard PC-Engine and then this way with no doubts my NEO NEO Power PC-E 128M+SAVE will work just fine ...
Great stuff anyway