Author Topic: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2  (Read 68088 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3827
Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« on: March 21, 2006, 12:45:16 AM »
3-21-2006:                                                             
Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
------------------------                                               
1. Improved homebrew nds loader
2. Proper detection of a valid menu nds file (should not detect most homebrew as a menu now)
3. Added support for XG 2005 flashcart
4. Much improved support for running games directly from MMC card (more games work well)

Quick User Guide: here
Known Bugs: here
Latest flashme V7 now supports booting MK2/3 menuflash direclty (no GBA cart):
http://ds.gcdev.com/dsfirmware/

member download :
« Last Edit: March 21, 2006, 02:29:03 PM by cory1492 »
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline worstenbrood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2006, 01:54:31 AM »
since v0.6 of the menu i always have to press B, then A, then it detects my SD card, then i have to press A again too see te content of the card, which is nothing, then i press B to go back and A to show the contents again before i see the real content of the card, really annoying :/

Offline cbxracer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2006, 02:08:41 AM »
This version looks promessing... There is already a better compatibility with beta 2 than beta 1. Now I can load Age of Empire II.. Before, I kept getting white screen...

The only things.. The graphics are a bit messed up.. but I'm sure it will be fixed on the final release.


Offline d-loader

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 359
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2006, 03:28:41 AM »
Dr Neo, you are my HERO!  :-*

Offline sven

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1394
    • the one starting with: "www." you'll find the rest.
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2006, 03:35:40 AM »
go docter go docter    woehoe
O hai

Offline rogerpoco

  • Eight-Legged Gamer/The DECO Kid
  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • BurgerTime-7,837,750 Official MAME World Record
    • My Twitch Channel-Usually Offline or BurgerTime
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2006, 03:40:19 AM »
since v0.6 of the menu i always have to press B, then A, then it detects my SD card, then i have to press A again too see te content of the card, which is nothing, then i press B to go back and A to show the contents again before i see the real content of the card, really annoying :/

What type card?I've got fifty-hundred,and I have the problem you describe when using smaller Sandisk SD.Larger Sandisk(512+)seem fine.Kingstons seem fine no matter the size.
You should always be yourself.
Unless you can be Billy Mitchell.
Then you should be Billy Mitchell.
https://www.twitch.tv/rogerpoco48

Offline q_armando

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2006, 03:49:05 AM »
I don't know, I like the way the menu is shaping up, and I know that compatibility will eventually improve one day, but still I think that in order to start a game one has to press too many buttons.
It's nice for safety's sake to make sure to backup saves before a game start, but maybe the whole process could be made a litte bit easyer.

For example I want to start Space Ivaders DS:

1- First I select Space Invaders and I press A
2- I'm asked if I want to backup the previous game save,press B or A
3- Then if I want to load Space Invaders save,press B or A
4- Then if I want to erase the MK2 SAVE
5- If I really want to boot Space Invaders,press B or A(should be clear at this point that I want to play that game!)

Too many button presses in my opinion.
I think this would be enough:

1-Do you really want to boot Space Invaders DS ? Press B or A.

And then automatically manage the save files,because we know that if we start a new game the old MK2save files will be lost.

If I press A, the software should backup the previous save file to the SD card, erase the MK2 file and load the new game Save if it exists .

This is just my idea of how things should work,I hope I don't offend anybody :)
« Last Edit: March 21, 2006, 03:52:22 AM by q_armando »
Quote from: scrotor on January 05, 2006, 10:32:35 PM
"You are a dildohead......
......I had a few issues getting up and running, so ask away, I'll do my best to help you, even tho' you're being a @#$% cheap ass pirate.
"

Offline cbxracer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2006, 04:03:44 AM »
I agre, that you should only press one button if you want to play the game... and all the saves sould be handle automatically.

The Xrom 512 does it and it's not even made for the DS...

Offline worstenbrood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2006, 04:05:08 AM »
since v0.6 of the menu i always have to press B, then A, then it detects my SD card, then i have to press A again too see te content of the card, which is nothing, then i press B to go back and A to show the contents again before i see the real content of the card, really annoying :/

What type card?I've got fifty-hundred,and I have the problem you describe when using smaller Sandisk SD.Larger Sandisk(512+)seem fine.Kingstons seem fine no matter the size.

1 GB SanDisk ...

Offline chango

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2006, 04:50:45 AM »
how about a beta 3 to support tetris and metroid!

Offline d-loader

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 359
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2006, 05:16:23 AM »
Chango, have you tried loading the new Metroid Prime Hunters from the MagicKey, or is it a homebrew Metroid?  ::sm-04::

Offline Xaroxantu Zero

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • Zero M3 Creations
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2006, 06:44:37 AM »
Tried loading Metroid Prime: Hunters with 0.4 and 0.6 beta 2 via Sandisk 512MB SD Card and MK2, but all I get is a white screen. ???

Good thing I already ordered a legit copy! xD

Offline rogerpoco

  • Eight-Legged Gamer/The DECO Kid
  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • BurgerTime-7,837,750 Official MAME World Record
    • My Twitch Channel-Usually Offline or BurgerTime
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2006, 07:48:26 AM »
Hmmm.
Card compatibility has been one of the current testing issues.maybe it'll fix soon.
I've had them break and unbreak,depending on the menu,like you said.
sorry.
You should always be yourself.
Unless you can be Billy Mitchell.
Then you should be Billy Mitchell.
https://www.twitch.tv/rogerpoco48

Offline Gyzmo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #13 on: March 21, 2006, 08:40:38 AM »
Thanks for including *.gba version. 8)
It's going well...

Offline cory1492

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1443
    • Cory1492's NDS + PSP corner
Re: Neoflash MK2/3 Menu V0.6 BETA 2
« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2006, 11:27:56 AM »
since v0.6 of the menu i always have to press B, then A, then it detects my SD card, then i have to press A again too see te content of the card, which is nothing, then i press B to go back and A to show the contents again before i see the real content of the card, really annoying :/
Which type of SD card are you having problems with?

Quote from: q_armando
1-Do you really want to boot Space Invaders DS ? Press B or A.

And then automatically manage the save files,because we know that if we start a new game the old MK2save files will be lost.

If I press A, the software should backup the previous save file to the SD card, erase the MK2 file and load the new game Save if it exists .
If it did it that way how would you load any save file and still have it in memory before loading a .nds that doesnt belong to that file? (it is like that to support SMS, although I agree it is too many button presses)

Quote
3. Added support for XG 2005 flashcart
Mine is still not detected.

Updating the Beta1 known bugs right now.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2006, 12:13:35 PM by cory1492 »
Those who have come here to hate should leave now, for in their hatred they only betray themselves.
translated from The Book of Life (Src: Sword of Truth - Phantom by Terry Goodkind)