Author Topic: GBAMP-Backups  (Read 236127 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Scor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
GBAMP-Backups
« on: April 03, 2006, 03:00:41 AM »
I was wondering, since Chism apparently got backups to run on his GBAMP.
And I know that he hacked them so that the reads from the DS slot get to the GBA slot.
Isn't that kinda the same what the M3 does?

Offline boblen

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1130
    • Aussie-Play.com
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2006, 05:32:35 AM »
ok the M3 and the GBAMP 2 are completely diferent. I have been able to get NDS games to work on my GBAMP but you need a MK2. With the MK2 it has a SD card and can boot the game from the SD card threw the menu.

For more infomation on how to get this to work go to:
http://www.aussie-play.com/user/tut-gbamp.html

Offline Scor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2006, 01:36:27 PM »
Sounds to me it runns more or less from the MK2 rather then from the GBAMP directly..But this might get me a better idea about the general operation of the backups, and what trick is needed to get it all to work :) (if it is even possible).
Thanks anyway!

Offline boblen

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1130
    • Aussie-Play.com
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2006, 01:39:23 PM »
you cant run a real NDS Rom from the GBAMP. Only homebrew can be run.
The MK4 is comming out soon (I hope) maby you should stay around and wait a little while.

Offline Scor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2006, 03:39:58 PM »
Chances are I'll end up buying an MK4 :), but for now I'm looking into this.
Chism got it to work didn't he?
I just don't have enough experiance to get it to work  ::sm-02:: must learn  ::sm-02::.

Offline boblen

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1130
    • Aussie-Play.com
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2006, 03:45:52 PM »
ok he got HomeBrew to work using a hack he made.

The only way to get Real Back-ups to work is useing a MK2/3 (maby 4 when it comes out)

Offline Scor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2006, 04:50:46 PM »
Quoting Chism here:
"The unreleased version's only advantage is playing ROMz. It doesn't magically play games that expect to read from the GBA cart (such as DS Heretic), since they expect direct memory access. Unlocked v2.1* runs ROMz by patching them to redirect reads from the DS Card to the CF card, taking advantage of the identical sector sizes."

Offline Scor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2006, 12:56:50 AM »
So as you can see, it is most defently possible, just not done yet (released anyway).

Offline rmco2003

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2006, 05:45:05 PM »
I hope it's released to the public..

Offline LiraNuna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • Development Blog
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2006, 02:24:21 PM »
Its already did.... already did...

But none of you can understand how to use it ;)

Offline boblen

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1130
    • Aussie-Play.com
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2006, 03:12:09 PM »
? did i miss something here?
you can or cant play nds-roms on the GBAMP?
I am almost sure you cant. unless you have a MK2

Offline Scor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2006, 01:22:36 AM »
I know it is already done, I also know how, I just don't know how to reproduce it, and since I'm buying something else I don't really care that much anymore :).
However something I do find very interesting, is how fast sertain rumors are excepted as reality.
The GBAMP is simply a CF - GBA converter, som in essence of cource it can run the roms (just as long as they are hacked).

*Btw, LiraNuna, small change in your comment I think:
But none of you can understand how to use it ;) , should be
But none of you (except some) know how to hack the roms (since it is not in version 2.11 or older (except 2.10). And since it was a firmware hack...-> figure that one out yourselves :).

So as a responce to Boblen, you can play them, if you hack the roms, BUT since you don't know how (if you do, I'll help you build it (as long as you'll release it)), nobody else feels like making a patcher, and Chism won't release his, You (and I) can't :(.


_______________EDIT_____________
What do you people think this lines mean, can't really think of anything while reading the source (entirely different thing then what I discussed before the edit):
/* Not needed for WMB demos   
   //mirrored header CRC
   (*(vu16*)0x027FF808) = ndsHeader[0x15E>>2];
   (*(vu16*)0x027FFC08) = ndsHeader[0x15E>>2];

   //mirrored secure area CRC
   (*(vu16*)0x027FF80A) = ndsHeader[0x06C>>2];
   (*(vu16*)0x027FFC0A) = ndsHeader[0x06C>>2];
*/

   // first copy the header to its proper location, excluding
   // the ARM9 start address, so as not to start it
   TEMP_ARM9_START_ADDRESS = ndsHeader[0x024>>2];      // Store for later
   ndsHeader[0x024>>2] = 0;
   dmaCopyWords(3, (void*)ndsHeader, (void*)NDS_HEAD, 0x170);
« Last Edit: April 12, 2006, 01:49:38 AM by Scor »

Offline LiraNuna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • Development Blog
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2006, 03:50:13 AM »
You all have the firmware, the "feature" is just diabled ;)

Offline Scor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2006, 04:52:59 AM »
Arggh, I've been looking through the source for ages now, (and no I'm not bad in C or assembly), but I can't find it :S.
Dear god a hint or something, this is so incredably annoying  ::sm-02::.

Offline rmco2003

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: GBAMP-Backups
« Reply #14 on: April 15, 2006, 01:52:15 AM »
If you want I can have a look through