Author Topic: want to know something for finish the NES / MD and SNES cart save part ...  (Read 54376 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DjoeN

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 215
In addition to Sven his info

When you lift up pin 4 of the lockout chip you can ad easily a switch to it :D (i did it with mine)

To run the most games on the Tototek flashcard:
- 1 PAL lockout chip from a game
- 1 NTSC-U lockout chip from a game
- 1 NTSC-J lockout chip from a game

This way you can switch lockout chip depending on the game and use the switch on the snes to enable/disable the lockout switch.

I know it's not an option, but adding the 3 lockout chips on the pcb with a switch is maybe the easiest way to play all regio games. (If possible)

http://djoen.dommel.be//Nintendo/snesmod/lockout.html (a lockout mod without switch)

Long ago a good source on all this stuff was = http://www.gamesx.com/

----------------------

http://www.gamesx.com/cartouts/gennycart.htm (Genesis cart pin layout)

----------------------

For NES, here are also 2 intresting documents:

http://www.raphnet.net/electronique/nes_cart/NES_ROM_Pinouts.txt
http://www.raphnet.net/electronique/nes_cart/rom.txt
http://www.raphnet.net/electronique/nes_cart/mmc1.txt

----------------------
For SNES:

http://www.emulatronia.com/doctec/consolas/snes/sneskart.html (it has info on pinouts for the mad-1 and dsp) Some pictures don't show up :/)
http://emureview.ztnet.com/developerscorner/Roms/Sneskart.zip (Download)
http://emureview.ztnet.com/developerscorner/Roms/Snespin.zip (Download)
http://wiki.pocketheaven.com/SNES_games_with_special_chips
« Last Edit: July 12, 2007, 11:19:34 PM by DjoeN »
Father, The Sleeper Has Awaken!
He Who Controls The Spice, Controls The Universe!

Offline sven

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1395
    • the one starting with: "www." you'll find the rest.
totally forgot to mention that, good job. this switch will et you still play titels like mario rpg from your own region.
btw. mario rpg doesn't work with most flashcarts because it uses one of them special chips, i don't know how the support for that is with the neo myth card.

only 2 chips are needed because the US and japanese are the same, so only one pal and one ntsc chip is needed.

maybe do a switch so you can link between a lockout chip or a game so the lockout chip becomes optional because i'm sure they're not cheap because it has to be demolished out of original snes games, if you make a easy click system for it(if possible) people could do it on their own!

btw, as far as i know the locking out works about the same for the nes, with the top loading nes from the end of the nes era in the US no lock-out chip is included so that's always region free.

another point i forgot: because the ntsc and pal snes run on different speeds a 50/60 switch is needed to run every import on optimized speed(it's not needed for all titels) that's not possible to include in the flashcard unfortunately. it's not necesary though and with much games you wouldn't notice(only speed oriented games maybe) altough if it botters or not it's depends on the person playing offcourse
O hai

Offline DjoeN

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 215
Yeah, i forgot about the 50/60Hz speed switch :D

But i think the most easiest way is to make a PAL and a NTSC Myht cart.
(Just the [clone] lockout chip would be different)

(People don't like modding there console, and you lock out a potential group of buyers.)

This will prevent the need for a lockout switch and 50/60hz switch on the SNES itself and if you trully want to play imports, just get both carts :P


The lockout chip on the NES does work kinda the same like you said, but as far as i know once disabled all nes games work (not like the 2 snes games that don't work on the snes when disabled)
Father, The Sleeper Has Awaken!
He Who Controls The Spice, Controls The Universe!

Offline DjoeN

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 215
Will the Myth support C4 games (Mega Man X2 and X3, Only those 2 games use it)

- The C4 chip is a graphics chip designed by Capcom to create the transparent visual effects in Mega Man X2/X3.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2007, 11:14:45 PM by DjoeN »
Father, The Sleeper Has Awaken!
He Who Controls The Spice, Controls The Universe!

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3827
yes,so i think for the SNES myth should use the passthrough method to run, then user can put any special DSP cart to boot the games that use same DSP chip. and in this way can avoid the 50/60Hz problem.
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline sven

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1395
    • the one starting with: "www." you'll find the rest.
eh no, if you backup and ntsc game and run it on a pal snes usinmg this, not matter where the neo myth software is optimised for you still have the problem ntsc games are made for 60hz and the pal snes can do 50hz at highest with modding, so in the flashchip there is no way to overcome the speed problem unfortunately. but in many games it doesn't matter, and all games will run, just a slight speed decrease in the gameplay(refresh rate and such stuff is still good only cars would co slower for example). no other work around then modding a switch and some cables in the snes ~sm-34.gif~

edit: anymore help needed?

edit2: http://home.freeuk.net/markk/Consoles/SMS_50-60Hz_Switch.txt some info on the 50/60hz problem
« Last Edit: July 13, 2007, 01:50:19 AM by sven »
O hai

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3827
ok,i think the only one way for fix the 50/60Hz problem is modify the SNES to add one switch for it.

and from this page : http://nsrt.edgeemu.com/INFO/chipinfo.htm

the game list for which mode have what games is not very detail and complete. just have 3 kinds game list, but total have 13 kinds of special chips. >:(
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline sven

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1395
    • the one starting with: "www." you'll find the rest.
that are the only three chips that have many titles, if you look at the beginning of the patch in the description you see about wich titles it goes for the chips with only a few games.
O hai

Offline DjoeN

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 215
Yeah, the best solution is that the user somehow mods his SNES with a Switch to enable/disable the 50/60Hz problem.

http://www.gamesx.com/importmod/snes5060.htm
(Be sure to not to forget the 2.2Ohm resistor)

The mod is very easy for anybody with a little solder skills.

Maybe it would be wise maybe to sell the needed parts for the switch with the Myth cart ;)

Are you planning to make an own DSP adapter that supports DSP-1, DSP-2, DSP-3 AND DSP-4 ?, or just DSP-1 (I would not cry if DSP-2,3 or 4 is not included) or just gonna use a passthrou cart ? (I would go for an own made dsp cart (sold sepratly then))

I would preffer a better SA-1 and SuperFX compatibility :D

If you go for 99% Compatibility, you gonna need to include alot of special chips, And that's gonna be difficult, That's the reason most SNES Flashcarts only supports DSP games and normal games.

Most special chipset games i bought original already ;)
« Last Edit: July 13, 2007, 06:11:29 AM by DjoeN »
Father, The Sleeper Has Awaken!
He Who Controls The Spice, Controls The Universe!

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3827
yes, i think present the free components and wires to the reatil packing for make the 50/60Hz mod is a good idea,hehe
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline sven

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1395
    • the one starting with: "www." you'll find the rest.
but you have to advertise it's optional, alot of people will be scared if they see you have to mod. just say it's optional to run imports on the apropiat speed
O hai

Offline DjoeN

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 215
Good point :D
Father, The Sleeper Has Awaken!
He Who Controls The Spice, Controls The Universe!

Offline sven

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1395
    • the one starting with: "www." you'll find the rest.
anymore help needed?
O hai

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3827
i think we need the complete NES mapper info still, and which NES cart use these mapper...
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline sven

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1395
    • the one starting with: "www." you'll find the rest.
http://www.pocketnes.org/tools/NESMapper.txt
there it is, it also includes file size.
O hai