Neo TeAm Forum

NEO Team's Projects for the GBA/NDS/NDS lite => NEO Flash and Magic Key 1/2/3 help, FAQ/guides and discussion => Bug Reports => Topic started by: Dr.neo on March 09, 2006, 12:48:29 AM

Title: please report the NEO-max V1.9 A4 bug in here.
Post by: Dr.neo on March 09, 2006, 12:48:29 AM
please report the NEO-max application and booter bugs in here.
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.7 bug in here.
Post by: cory1492 on March 09, 2006, 06:39:27 AM
Just a bit of info:
NeoFlash 512 is detected as cardtype 5, NeoMax as cardtype 12, XG2005 512 as cardtype 2

When formatting, SD/MMC support is checked off by default, but the box does not look like it is checked off. When you disable SD/MMC support, it fills the box in instead of clearing it. The GBA enable compress is odd too, when you click it on then off it is enabled with the box empty. Also, the "open read only" has this problem when adding a rom file.

NDS formatted
I added 1 NDS 128Mbit and 1 GBA 64Mbit rom (in that order) after a fresh format and pressed multi-rom and it says "No free memory!" and changes the size of the NDS I added first to 100x what it was origionally. Adding them one at a time and burning after adding one didnt seem to be a problem.

Desktop.bmp from the skin dir is never displayed anywhere. (not a bug: simply must load it using the skin menu in start)

in moonshell, none of the extensions that were moved to plugins work (.bmp, MP3 etc) (the IMFS shell folder is inaccessable)

NDS and GBA burned to the cart appear to be working well.

With an NDS file on the SD card (copied over using the SD menu), 16MByte, trying to launch it from SD results in "game is too large, write to cart" message

With the new SMS manager utility, I can see GBA saves only, and can do nothing with any of them.

Running GBA from the SD card (burns to the cart I presume) works well (but slow, the message on the bottom of the screen stays with "press start for menu" possibly should say "please wait" or similar), also, once it is flashed through the menu there is no way to run it again without reflashing it.

Not really a bug, but it bugs me: what is on the top screen appears ugly...

GBA format
GBA menu still contains the DS PASS phrase. Trying to boot the DS with flashme fails.

When I start a game in GBA mode, it says "refash ini" - should probably be "refreshing ini"

As far as I have checked SMS in GBA mode format is working flawlessly.
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.7 bug in here.
Post by: bruceg on March 10, 2006, 04:16:01 PM
I have a similar problem in nds formatted mode, with an error saying there is "no free memory", when there should be space.  Also, the program just will not add certain gba and nds titles (some cryptic error in a non-English language pops up).  Cory already mentioned the size limitation when adding certain nds files to the SD card.  Furthermore, I still cannot add the antares.nds homebrew file, either to the cart or SD card to run (get another non-English error message).

While the gba loader seems to be functioning more or less correctly, the nds loader has saving issues.  There is no "saver file" created for any of the nds roms I have burned on the flashcart (when you choose to format and select 'sd/mmc support').  So, after you run a rom from the flashcart, there is no way to save your progress.  Saver files show up for the nds roms loaded on the SD card, however.

When I use the sms manager, I can see both the gba and nds saves that are stored on the sd card, and open them up, hex edit the values, save them, and also run the search function.  The save manager crashed, though, when I was hex editing a nds save.

BruceG
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.7 bug in here.
Post by: Dr.neo on March 10, 2006, 04:46:23 PM
the neo-key can work with 1.7?
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.7 A2 bug in here.
Post by: cory1492 on March 10, 2006, 05:36:43 PM
With 1.7 it was a no-go (just hung when I pressed detect), with 1.7A2 it detects NeoKey as cart type 17.


1.7A2:
When I write a menu to the NeoKey I had to redetect it a couple times (it kept telling me no free memory when I pressed single ROM), and when it finally did write, when if finished it said "Not Find Cart" and then after pressing OK, it said "Write OK"

Format should be disabled for cart type 17 though it seems to be working.

Also, I havent found the conflict, but after uninstalling 1.5 and installing 1.7 NPK no longer worked with slim4, reinstalled everything and both are now working.

Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.7 A2 bug in here.
Post by: bruceg on March 11, 2006, 05:09:01 AM
Uninstalling neomax 1.7 A2 causes Neo Power Kit 2.2 SL3 to not function anymore.  I can't comment on the neo-key improvements in version 1.8, as I don't own a neo-key.

BruceG
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.7 A2 bug in here.
Post by: cory1492 on March 11, 2006, 07:37:31 AM
It is due to a shared file "EB100Usb.sys" and slimloaderXX.sys, also fixable by running the update.exe from the NPK USB driver dir.

OH JEEZEUS... I forgot all about the touch screen, looks like SMS addion is working fine (I was just trying with the buttons wrather than using the touch screen too)
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.8 bug in here.
Post by: cory1492 on March 11, 2006, 08:20:31 AM
Dr.neo : note I have been changing the topic title, so posts that have been since V1.8 will have 1.8 in each posts topic. Thanks for the new topscreen graphic, looks much better (although I suspect the old one would look better on a DSLite)  ::sm-05::

I can confirm that NeoMax DS side app is working equally with current MK2/3 models.

I have started a buglist here (http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php/topic,1827.msg12106.html#msg12106), I'll update it as they are submitted. Am currently testing to see which bugs pop up from my list the other day.

Mixed files (nds/gba) appears to be working very well now

NeoKey:
- detected fine (asks to format though?)
- added MK2 menu then the cart info box says it is a 0mbit cart
- pressed single rom - gives error message "no free space"
- pressed detect again (says to format again and only says "cardtype: 17")
- pressed single rom again and it burns fine
- give message "Not find cartridge" then "write OK"
- must shut NeoMax and unplug/replug slimloader for it to see the NeoKey cart again (always says "no device" if I dont)
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.7 A2 bug in here.
Post by: bruceg on March 11, 2006, 09:44:53 AM
It is due to a shared file "EB100Usb.sys", also fixable by running the update.exe from the NPK USB driver dir.

Yeah, I noticed the message about EB100USB.sys when I uninstalled (I clicked the option to keep the shared files, but that didn't help any)

I mentioned this since I didn't think it happened before with version 1.5 (just thought it would be less confusing if one uninstall didn't affect the other program, if possible -- so users won't post how NPK isn't working anymore)

BruceG

Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.8 bug in here.
Post by: boblen on March 11, 2006, 12:45:46 PM
When ever i insert my Neo-Max / Neo-Key i always have to reformat it.

Can this be fixed so we can get the Saves off them?

Thanks.
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.8 bug in here.
Post by: ementat on March 12, 2006, 08:03:34 AM
And I am still have the same problems with the new Neo Max 1.8 software described here http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php/topic,1764.0.html (http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php/topic,1764.0.html).

The only difference is that Neo Max detects my NeoFlash card as type 5 now not type 8.

And yes - i uninstalled everything from my computer, manually removed the slimloader driver, installed NeoMax 1.8, installed new slimloader driver - and nothing works...  >:( But Neo Power kit 2.2 is working  :'(

EDIT by bruceg:  He is having problems getting his neoflash 512 to function with the latest neomax version.  When he tries to detect, format, or add anything, the program continually freezes on him (he has tried on both an athlon and an intel based pc).  The new detection routines have NOT improved his situation.  Neo Power kit functions perfectly, however...
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.7 A2 bug in here.
Post by: Dr.neo on March 12, 2006, 02:31:51 PM
Also, I havent found the conflict, but after uninstalling 1.5 and installing 1.7 NPK no longer worked with slim4, reinstalled everything and both are now working.


you can see the X2USB.DLL is the key point,neo-max/SL3/SL4 have different X2USB.DLL,you just need to register this file,then you can see it works ::sm-04::
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max 1.9 bug in here.
Post by: cory1492 on March 12, 2006, 07:58:07 PM
Also, I havent found the conflict, but after uninstalling 1.5 and installing 1.7 NPK no longer worked with slim4, reinstalled everything and both are now working.


you can see the X2USB.DLL is the key point,neo-max/SL3/SL4 have different X2USB.DLL,you just need to register this file,then you can see it works ::sm-04::
The uninstaller really shouldnt take shared files away (like the USB driver.sys files, without uninstalling the device). X2usb.dll has been a problem for a while.

Is there a way to not have the same name .dll shared between two programs and have it loaded from the install folder at runtime instead of registered with windows? Like NMusb.dll instead of X2usb.dll, so that uninstalling one does not affect the other? (Im assuming the program loads the .dll based on its filename and not internal function names though)
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.9 A2 bug in here.
Post by: cory1492 on March 15, 2006, 08:49:57 PM
The buttons are still very confusing in 1.9 A2 PC software, in the default skin at least sometimes the box is filled with a sqare and it unselected, sometimes it empty and that is unselected, sometimes it is empty and that is selected... etc
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.9 A2 bug in here.
Post by: firetalon on March 17, 2006, 06:47:59 AM
   I am still having some fairly annoying problems with even the newest Neomax version (1.9_A3).  When attempting, earlier today, to flash the newest Menu version (0.6 Beta 1) to my Neo-Key...

   First, I uninstalled the last version of Neomax that I had had installed.  Then I continued to install the latest version (1.9_A3). 

   Second, I plugged in the hardware, my Slim Loader IV, into an empty motherboard USB slot.

   Third, I opened the NeoMax program, and clicked on "DETECT" to detect my Neo-Key flashcart.  The program stated, "Please Format First!".  I then went about formatting the card, and when the format was complete, the program stated, "NOT FIND CARD!", two times in a row.

   I then attempted to flash the menu to the flashcart, and the program wouldn't detect the card again, no matter what I tried.

   Next, I turned off the Neomax program, and unplugged and replugged the USB Slimloader IV.

   Basically, after a short series of troubleshooting...  I found that the only way I could flash a file to the Neo-Key flashcart, was to NOT format the card when it told me to "Format Card First!", and then go about adding the rom.  At first this didn't work either, but after a couple of tries, it stated, "NOT FIND CARD!", and in the second popup window, "Write OK!".

   When it had stated, "Write OK!", the file was on the Neo-Key and working. 

   I will be happy when the Neo-Key is only needed for a backup for a corrupt Menu replacement on the MK3, and we don't need to use the Slim-Loader IV for much.  Windows USB drivers have always been very buggy, as are most USB ports in general, and I think the direct writing to the SD cards was one of the best developments in flashcarts and passmes in a long time for this reason.

   Either way, I don't have much of a gripe with this program or the SlimLoader IV, because with a little extra time and troubleshooting, it does what it needs to do, and I hope the experience I had with my Neo-Key might help solve a problem with it in the long run.  Thanks for continuing to update and produce the software for this hardware, too!
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.9 A2 bug in here.
Post by: cory1492 on March 17, 2006, 06:53:51 PM
Thanks firetalon for your report.

Menu 0.6Beta 1 which is out now can be burned to the NeoKey and will boot whatever you put to the menu flash so you should not have to upgrade the software that is on the NeoKey unless something big changes with the menuflash system. See the news post for more info.
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.9 A4 bug in here.
Post by: cory1492 on March 18, 2006, 01:29:32 PM
Hrmm, looks like bruces error ! thing in the SD/MMC manager was a "disk full" error....

Updated the bug thread, seems alot of the PC side stuff is fixed, but the menu still expects patched NDS files... perhaps using DSBuild to patch the homebrew automatically could be added instead of GST patcher?

Just a note, the MK2/3 menu does not run, dsbuild version or nds version. It would be nice to use MK3 flash with the menu, and NeoMax booter with homebrew, is there a way you can get the menu running and/or be able to start the menu as a plugin from the MK2/3 menuflash?
Title: NeoFlash 512
Post by: c_personata on March 19, 2006, 11:59:53 PM
I've bought a NeoFlash 512 for GBA.

During installation no error occured.

Using the software NeoMax, version 1.9, the programm detects the 512 Mbits of the card, it allows the transfer from the PC to the card of for example, 4 or 5 games, till a maximum size of 192 Mbits.

From 192 Mbits on, when you transfer another game to the card, the whole transfer processe goes to the end, but the previous transfered games are deleted and a message appears, telling that there is only one Mbit recorded on the card. The only possibility left is to format the card. 

If you don't pass the 192Mbits, there is no problem, but I can't understand how this happens, when the remaining free size of the card is 276 Mbits.

Could this be related to the software or due to the card. Could you inform about another software to carry out this transfers?

Thanks in advance
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.9 A4 bug in here.
Post by: cory1492 on March 21, 2006, 03:10:09 PM
Try neo power kit and see if you have a similar problem with it, just note that GBA save support in NeoPowerKit is not very good (no SMS so your saves will likely overwrite eachother)

http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php/topic,1700.0.html

With this at least you should be able to confirm if it is the cart that is a problem or not.
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.9 A4 bug in here.
Post by: ementat on March 22, 2006, 04:38:10 AM
I can confirm the problem. The same issue happened with my NeoFlash 512 card.

By the way - the problems with the detect button and hanging format are gone!!!  :)

And now ther is only the 192Mbits limit problem :-( Anything ok with NeoPower - i can flash the whole card up to the 512 Mbits with no problem.
Title: XG Flash 2005 128MB - Slim Loader 3 - Lots of Bugs with the program!
Post by: pwnazar on March 26, 2006, 02:35:06 PM
Hi, i can't at all run the Neo Max on the 128Mb cart, does this Neo Max softwares suport the 128mb carts, cause i ALL versions, it doen't detect the cart, crashes the windows and so on, i've tried everithing, chancging the drivers and even on another Pc and nothing...

The Neo Power Kit works great, even the backup saves to the Pc, but i need the function to add the SMS functions on cart with Neo Max.

Please help!
Title: Re: please report the NEO-max V1.9 A4 bug in here.
Post by: rogerpoco on March 26, 2006, 09:18:24 PM

By the way - the problems with the detect button and hanging format are gone!!!


Did you change your battery?I've seen this a couple of times(detect button and hanging format),and actually had the problem myself,and I really think that changing the battery was the solution.
Seems too simple,I know.

I appreciate any confirmation.