Neo TeAm Forum

NEO Coding Competitions => NEO Spring Coding Competition 2006 => NEO Compo 2006 => The past Neo Coding Compos => NEO spring coding contest 2006 for NDS APPs => Topic started by: GPF on March 21, 2006, 07:41:56 AM

Title: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 21, 2006, 07:41:56 AM
This is a port of Frodo, by Christian Bauer, with modifications for
the nds by Troy Davis(GPF).  The original source code is obtainable from
http://www.uni-mainz.de/~bauec002/FRMain.html.  The home page of the NDS port is http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk

(http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk/frodods.png)
Instructions
copy your .D64 c64 disk images to a folder called /rd on the root of your cf/sd card

startup the emulator and it will allow you to select the d64 disk to mount on drive 8


you can press the right trigger to have it automatically type LOAD"*",8,1 and then RUN .

note. You might want to test the .d64 file on another version of Frodo to verify that the d64 is compatible with Frodo.

while playing games the dpad and a and b buttons are used for your joystick

press select to switch between port1 and port2 that the joystick is in.

dpad directions up,down,left,right
a button joystick firebutton
b button space key

The source code will be available on my site and would appreciate any and all help to improve this emulator.

thanks and enjoy,
Troy Davis(GPF)
http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk

thanks to headspin for the keyboard and code, thechuckster for the fat library d64 browser from his stellads port, maintainers of devkitpro and libnds and to all those in #mellowdsdev and #dsdev on efnet for there help and support.
Title: Re: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: worstenbrood on March 21, 2006, 07:45:46 AM
hehe nice work dude, gonna test the thing out, good luck!
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: Sektor on March 21, 2006, 04:35:44 PM
Nice job.  Jumpman is playable.

(http://www.gtamp.com/DS/jumpmanfrodo.jpg)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: fugazi on March 22, 2006, 01:19:29 AM
im using sc/sd and it not detect roms, it says "-2 files detected"
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 22, 2006, 07:15:30 AM
Ok finally had someone else test on the supercard sd and it does appear to be broken, Sektor helped me out and found out that by default FAT lib support is disabled for supercard sd, iv reenabled support for everything but disabled write support just in case and have attached those new version to this post, if the entered version wont work for you this version should, I had someone with a supercard sd test the .ds.gba attached and was able to view the files in the /rd folder and mount them and then load them from the c64 ready prompt :)

BTW thanks all for your votes and support :)
Troy(GPF)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 22, 2006, 01:16:56 PM
Ok finally tested on the m3 sd and it still broken in version 0.1 , I grabbed the FAT lib from the mp3play10 source since it was reported the it was working with m3 sd, but disabled write support just in case and have attached those new version to this post, if the previous version wont work for you this version should, I tested the .ds.gba attached and was able to view the files in the /rd folder and mount them and then load them from the c64 ready prompt

BTW thanks all for your votes and support
Troy(GPF)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: Metaluna on March 22, 2006, 06:14:25 PM
I've just tested Jumpman on my M3 SD and it's really amazing.  :)

Too bad it doesn't run Fort Apocalypse and Forbidden Forrest, my favourite C64 games. 

I have to test Archon. It would be wonderful to play this one with another player by wifi..   ;)

Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 22, 2006, 10:23:18 PM
it might be your version of Fort Apocalypse, I just tried mine and it works. I didnt get a chance to test Forbidden Forest yet though.

Thanks for your support.
Troy(GPF)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: fugazi on March 23, 2006, 08:52:26 PM
it take a lot to load , there is no way to speed up
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 23, 2006, 09:12:12 PM
it take a lot to load , there is no way to speed up

next version will have the ability to load snapshots from the pc version of Frodo, which are pretty much instaneous.

Thanks for your support,
Troy(GPF)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: Metaluna on March 24, 2006, 01:48:52 AM
it might be your version of Fort Apocalypse, I just tried mine and it works.

Yes, it works. I didn't wait long enough at my first try.  :-[
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 24, 2006, 07:03:19 AM
it might be your version of Fort Apocalypse, I just tried mine and it works.

Yes, it works. I didn't wait long enough at my first try.  :-[


:) Finally discovered the problem with loading times, 1541 emulation was unable to be turned off, found the problem and with it disabled things load a lot faster, this will be selectable in the future depending on whether the game requires 1541 emulation mode to be on or off.

Troy(GPF)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: CU_AMiGA on March 24, 2006, 11:51:57 PM
Hey Yo!

I am using the SuperCard SD seup for this, and cant seem to get the emu working. I tried the .nds file in nds mode, and the .gba file in gba mode. The .nds file presents me with the "Spring Coding Competition" screen, and then appears to freeze (no text in the bottom screen either). The .gba file just crashes (both screens go blank!). I put the emu files and the /rd dir in the root directory (with a .d64 file in the /rd dir). How can i get this running!? :'(

Regards,
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 25, 2006, 12:05:40 AM
from what i have been told from my supercard sd testers, is that all they do is rename the .ds.gba file to .gba.nds and use that file.

Let me know if this doesnt work for you, and Ill ask them for more details.

thanks for trying it out,
Troy(GPF)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: trueman on March 28, 2006, 03:32:40 AM
Hi, i downloaded al versions of the emu and tested it with my supercard sd (i have 2 of this with two different sd cards 512 and 1GB), but nothing
worked.
I tested the normal *.nds files and renamed the *.nds.gba to *.nds, but the emu freezes in the spring coding competition 2006 screen.
Any ideas?
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 28, 2006, 04:12:57 AM
Hi, i downloaded al versions of the emu and tested it with my supercard sd (i have 2 of this with two different sd cards 512 and 1GB), but nothing
worked.
I tested the normal *.nds files and renamed the *.nds.gba to *.nds, but the emu freezes in the spring coding competition 2006 screen.
Any ideas?

OK got a little more information from my tester, he said you rename the FrodoDS.ds.gba to FrodoDS.gba.nds and then from the file selection menu press A button to load it.

Troy(GPF)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: revo on March 28, 2006, 05:10:55 PM
I'm trying to try it from MK2 and on start it's listing main SD directory instead of rd/. If I put roms in main dir, and choose them, loading fails with "file not found" error.

I'm using MK2 menu v0.6 beta 2
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 29, 2006, 01:58:39 AM
(http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk/c64_03.png)

This new version now only list the .d64/.D64 files in the /rd directory(limit them to less then 15 or they will scroll of the screen)

1541 drive emulation is turned off for a lot speedier load times.

As you can see in the above image the screen colors are finally correct

Sound is now recognisable for most things.

Left shoulder button will now load a snapshot image created with the pc version of Frodo 4.1b, name the snapshot jjr.fss and put it in the /rd folder on the root of the cf/sd card.

Enjoy and Thanks for all the support.
Troy(GPF)
http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 29, 2006, 05:47:43 AM
This new version uses the romfs appended to the end of the .nds or .ds.gba file so should work for most everything but the gbamp, with a little more work to generate the romdisk and append it. This version is only need for those that the FAT lib version doesnt work.

You need a copy of genromfs.exe , you can download from here
http://www.feetoffury.com/files/genromfs-cygwin.zip rename it to genromfs.exe or update the included createromdisk.bat file.

Also might need the cygwin1.dll file from here http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/pop.php?cygwin1

Download the gbfs distrubution from http://www.pineight.com/gba/ and take the padbin.exe and put that in the folder as well.

put the files into the same folder, then copy all of your .d64 files (also jjr.fss snapshot if you create one) into the rd directory and run the included createromdisk.bat

it should generate an FrodoDS_fs.nds and FrodoDS_fs.ds.gba .

This has all the fixes as the FAT lib version 0.3, but is not needed unless the FAT version from above message is not working

Enjoy and Thanks for all the support.
Troy(GPF)
http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: ahamay on March 29, 2006, 07:16:59 PM
It does not work on my supercard CF. I get the errormessage:
not found fs_romdisk: mounting image at 0x0 at /rd  :-X

Then it freezes up... I did everthing according to your tutorial. Strange however... The first version of Frodo worked without any problem. ::)

Regards,

Maurice
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 29, 2006, 09:05:01 PM
It does not work on my supercard CF. I get the errormessage:
not found fs_romdisk: mounting image at 0x0 at /rd  :-X

Then it freezes up... I did everthing according to your tutorial. Strange however... The first version of Frodo worked without any problem. ::)

Regards,

Maurice

Did you try the FAT lib version 0.3 ?

On the romdisk version did the file romdisk.img get created? that is the file that should be created by genromfs.exe that the bat file runs, it should approxiametly be the size of all the .d64 files in the rd directory.  Also I forgot to include a link to padbin.exe that used as well, and might be the problem, if the romdisk.img file got created correctly. Download the gbfs distrubution from http://www.pineight.com/gba/ and take the padbin.exe and put that in the folder as well and rerun the bat file. Also try opening a command/dos window and run the bat file from there so you can see if there are any error messages.

Troy(GPF)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: ahamay on March 29, 2006, 11:34:16 PM
Hello Troy,

Yes it worked when I included Padbin.exe before executing the bat file.
So that should be the problem. I tested one of my favorites: Space taxi, but noticed some things:

Speed:
Speed is too slow, do you think it's possible to improve this in future releases? I know the DS has only 66Mhz and a commodore Amiga did have
some issues to emulate the C64 back then. (In 97/98)

Sound:
2) I see that audio has improved, good work. But the digitized voice "hey taxi" does not work correctly. Just to let you know !

Don't see this a critism, this port is a very promising port and you did a great job. Of all the emulators out there for the DS the C64 was always the system I wanted a emulator for. I also voted for you !

Best regards,

Maurice
P.S. If you want something tested in the future on a Super CF, let me know.
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on March 30, 2006, 02:26:01 AM
Hello Troy,

Yes it worked when I included Padbin.exe before executing the bat file.
So that should be the problem. I tested one of my favorites: Space taxi, but noticed some things:

Speed:
Speed is too slow, do you think it's possible to improve this in future releases? I know the DS has only 66Mhz and a commodore Amiga did have
some issues to emulate the C64 back then. (In 97/98)

Sound:
2) I see that audio has improved, good work. But the digitized voice "hey taxi" does not work correctly. Just to let you know !

Don't see this a critism, this port is a very promising port and you did a great job. Of all the emulators out there for the DS the C64 was always the system I wanted a emulator for. I also voted for you !

Best regards,

Maurice
P.S. If you want something tested in the future on a Super CF, let me know.

thanks for letting me know of the sucess, and I will let you be a tester when I get some new code for supercard CF support.

Troy(GPF)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: headspin on April 01, 2006, 01:29:12 AM
Congrats on 3rd place GPF!
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on April 01, 2006, 04:27:35 AM
Congrats on 3rd place GPF!

Thanks.

I want to thank all the nostalgic public for there support for the c64. well im off to work some more on FrodoDS :)

Troy(GPF)
http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk (http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: PW-Herman on April 01, 2006, 09:55:38 PM

GPF your work is great !!
I am using it on my GBAMP .

Just one question for future release is there any idea to make a reset or
restart function ?

Well great thank you !
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: spinal on April 22, 2006, 09:21:33 PM

GPF your work is great !!
I am using it on my GBAMP .


Can someone tell me how to use this with GBAMP?
I just get bith white screens.
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: xcom on July 15, 2006, 11:11:45 AM
A C64 emulator on the DS, awesome.  :-*

Added the emulator and files onto my DS-Lite (Wizball) and all worked perfectly right up until I tried to play the game. The same issue was visible on all D64 roms tested.

The playback is slow, and the sound choppy. I'm sure you are aware of these issues but hopefully future releases will improve this minor issue.

Looking forward to improved future releases, and Wizball!.

Would like to see the following added:

Nicer front end - I can build some graphics for you if you would like.

Need to make the file selection screen scroll for more roms to be visible.

A C64 reset button below the keyboard

Separate arrow keys from the keyboard in a T pattern

better playback performance.

If you want any assistance on the graphics email me at: cheese_gromit@mac.com with the details - I'd be happy to help out.
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on July 28, 2006, 12:47:22 AM
new home of FrodoDS

http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk/Frodoc64.shtml (http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk/Frodoc64.shtml)

Thanks,
Troy(GPF)


Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: ooRay on August 30, 2006, 07:51:33 PM
Hi there!
I have a problem I need your help with: It´s impossible for me to create a directory called "/rd" since "/" is not allowed in a name in Windows. I also tried to create it with DSOrganise, but it shows the slash as an underscore. Hence FrodoDS won´t start with an error saying "can´t find directory"...

Any ideas? Thanks in advance! :)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: xcom on August 31, 2006, 05:19:06 AM
 ::sm-18.gif::

Yes this is an issue on the PC not sure what the solution is but \ are not allowed in filenames, so I did it on my Mac mini - works fine.

Maybe find someone with a mac and create the directory that way.
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: Sektor on August 31, 2006, 01:02:39 PM
You don't create a folder with a slash in the name.  The slash just means to create it at the top (root).  So if your CF/SD drive was F:, you would make a folder called rd on f:\.
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: xcom on August 31, 2006, 05:55:50 PM
No it needs a \
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: ooRay on August 31, 2006, 08:19:08 PM
Thanks for the answers!
Creating a directory called "rd" doesn´t work, I tried that before. So, I will try to create the "/rd" with DSlinux, that should work afaik.
/me wants to play California Games! :)

Thanks again!
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: Sektor on August 31, 2006, 09:56:16 PM
rd is the correct name (no DS program requires a folder with a slash, that would be stupid since it's not a valid FAT name).

It's far more likely that your device just isn't supported by the FATlib used in this emulator.  What device are you using?
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: ooRay on September 01, 2006, 01:59:34 AM
I´m using a M3 miniSD. Would be a pity if it was not supported! :)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: Gulf4anime on October 31, 2007, 06:04:34 PM
How are you gay are you ok : :

this is an important news i love play games n64 much
i have r4 and nintendo ds lite can you tell me ::
can i play games n64 in this emulator in ds r4
please help me i tell me how to get emulator in r4
i want to play donkey kong 64
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: Metaluna on October 31, 2007, 08:18:11 PM
This is a commodore 64 emulator wich is a 8 bit computer of the 80's.

So don't expect to launch Nintendo 64 games with it...
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: knightrider469 on September 11, 2008, 03:45:06 AM
It does not work on my TTDS. I get the errormessage:
not found fs_romdisk: mounting image at 0x0 at /rd 

Then it freezes up... I did everthing according to your tutorial. Strange however... PLEASE HELP
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on September 11, 2008, 04:37:19 AM
It does not work on my TTDS. I get the errormessage:
not found fs_romdisk: mounting image at 0x0 at /rd 

Then it freezes up... I did everthing according to your tutorial. Strange however... PLEASE HELP

Download the latest version from my website, http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk (http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk) , doesn't use romdiskfs anymore uses dldi support now.

Troy(GPF)
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: knightrider469 on September 11, 2008, 06:49:45 PM
ok thanks but i am new to this can u help me i downloaded http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk/files/nds/Frodo4src.rar doi but all this in to my memory card and what files are the games now as i only know roms please help
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: GPF on September 11, 2008, 11:07:58 PM
ok thanks but i am new to this can u help me i downloaded http://gpf.dcemu.co.uk/files/nds/Frodo4src.rar doi but all this in to my memory card and what files are the games now as i only know roms please help

Well unless you plan on coding that is the wrong file, you need the .nds binary file from the  FrodoDS.rar link .

Troy
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: knightrider469 on September 12, 2008, 07:34:45 PM
ok now what do i do
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: knightrider469 on September 12, 2008, 09:26:29 PM
ok i have got the programe on the ds and i works but i cant get any commodr64 games to work with it Bubble Dizzy [Vision].d64 orBubble_Dizzy.sid are these the right for mat if not what do thay have to be and where can i get some please help
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: spinal on September 12, 2008, 11:26:19 PM
the .d64 file needs to be in the RD folder on your card. Press L and select the .d64 file, then press R and the game should load.
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: knightrider469 on September 13, 2008, 02:17:17 AM
ok i have tryed this and i can only get one game to work please help and do u know where i can get the roms  for it please
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: spinal on September 13, 2008, 02:51:53 AM
with some games, the main file is not always the one that loads with the above method. You can also try typing in...

LOAD"$",8
LIST


then choose the filename that looks most like it is the main executable for the game you can to load, it will usually be of filetype PRG, then just type

LOAD"filename",8,1
RUN
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: knightrider469 on September 13, 2008, 05:36:41 AM
no still not working mate  i typed load .8.1 run
iget syntex error
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: spinal on September 13, 2008, 06:30:10 AM
I'm not sure im being clear enough, so have a lookat the following, its from a C64 manual.

Quote from: Commodore 64 Reference Guide
Code: [Select]
Commodore 64 Reference Guide

COMMODORE FILE TYPES AND USES
DEL Deleted file
PRG Program file
SEQ Sequence file (usually a text file)
REL Relative file (data file)

COMMODORE 64 BASIC DISK COMMANDS

Format a new disk OPEN1,8,15,"N0:"DISKNAME,ID":CLOSE 1
Load a file LOAD "FILENAME",8
Load 1st disk file LOAD "*",8
Load and run file LOAD "FILENAME",8,1
Save a file SAVE "FILENAME",8
Save and replace SAVE "@0:"FILENAME",8
Verify disk file VERIFY "FILENAME",8
Directory listing LOAD "$",8
LIST
Redirection CMD
EXAMPLE: Redirect directory listing to a serial printer
OPEN 1,4:CMD 1:LIST:CLOSE 1

Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: knightrider469 on September 14, 2008, 01:37:41 AM
please can u send me a game that works to try thanks  and what is the main thing u have to type to load roms
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: knightrider469 on September 16, 2008, 12:48:51 AM
[--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
please can u send me a game that works to try thanks  and what is the main thing u have to type to load roms  i really cant get this to work please help
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: spinal on September 16, 2008, 06:26:35 AM
Go to a site like c64.com you can download a game from there. Most files that end in .D64 will work. Put them in the RD folder on your card. Start the emulator, press L, fine the D64 file you want to load and press A. once you see the blue screen again with the cursor flashing, press R then game should now load. If you see an error message on the screen, try a different .D64 file.
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: knightrider469 on September 17, 2008, 02:22:04 AM
ok thanks for the site but all the games i have tryed to load come up with this error
load"8",8,1
searching for *
?file not found error
ready run
please help
Title: Re: contest: NDS APP - Commodore 64 Emulator
Post by: spinal on September 17, 2008, 06:04:05 PM
in which case, after attatching the .d64 file...

using the virtual keyboard type-

LOAD"$",8<ENTER>
LIST<ENTER>

you should see a list of files that can be found on the d64 file.
Now look near the top of the list for the filename of the game you want to load, it should have  PRG after it.

Type in the following -
LOAD"FILENAME",8,1
RUN

replace FILENAME with the name of the file you want to load.
like this...
(http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/3435/loadingcx4.gif)