Neo TeAm Forum

NEO Team's Project for the PC-Engine => NEO Power PC-E Flash Cart => Topic started by: mic_ on August 10, 2010, 01:56:10 AM

Title: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mic_ on August 10, 2010, 01:56:10 AM
My updated menu for the PC-E flash card is now available for download at http://code.google.com/p/neo-myth-menu/downloads/list (http://code.google.com/p/neo-myth-menu/downloads/list)

The source code (for those interested) is available at http://code.google.com/p/neo-myth-menu/source/browse/#svn/trunk/PCE

I've only been able to test it on my TurboGrafx so far, but hopefully it should work the same on a PC-Engine.

Screenshot:
(http://jiggawatt.org/picsplz/tgxmenu2.png)

And a short video captured from my european TurboGrafx: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJlgML-o3HA
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: Conle on August 10, 2010, 11:03:27 AM
Mic_  :P !!
That looks really cool.

edit~posted it on the news page  :)
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mr.spiv on August 12, 2010, 04:48:10 AM
My updated menu for the PC-E flash card is now available for download at http://code.google.com/p/neo-myth-menu/downloads/list (http://code.google.com/p/neo-myth-menu/downloads/list)

The source code (for those interested) is available at http://code.google.com/p/neo-myth-menu/source/browse/#svn/trunk/PCE

I've only been able to test it on my TurboGrafx so far, but hopefully it should work the same on a PC-Engine.

Thanks for the updated menu. I gave it a try on my Core Grafx and using the latest Slim-e-loader. The menu boots up and lists roms but is not able to start any of those. It just immediately resets back to the menu. Did you change anything particular compared to neoflash menus v1.03/1.04 (I did not check the source codes yet..) ?
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mic_ on August 12, 2010, 02:03:19 PM
No, I didn't change the loading procedure. But I haven't been able to test it on a japanese system (CoreGrafx is japanese, isn't it?).
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mr.spiv on August 13, 2010, 12:44:29 AM
No, I didn't change the loading procedure. But I haven't been able to test it on a japanese system (CoreGrafx is japanese, isn't it?).

Yep, it's Japanese. Though, the banking code is about equivalent I wonder what's going wrong.. could be my flash proggie as well, heh.  I'll do some testing with neoflash menu expanded to side of your menu rom.
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mr.spiv on August 13, 2010, 02:45:14 AM
Yep, it's Japanese. Though, the banking code is about equivalent I wonder what's going wrong.. could be my flash proggie as well, heh.  I'll do some testing with neoflash menu expanded to side of your menu rom.

Tested with double size menu (2x neoflash 1.04).. worked ok. Spotted a bug in slim-e-loader though, so this was very useful, heh.
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mic_ on August 13, 2010, 03:54:43 PM
Tested with double size menu (2x neoflash 1.04).. worked ok. Spotted a bug in slim-e-loader though, so this was very useful, heh.

So the problem was in your programmer? Or does game loading still not work on your CoreGrafx? Have you tried if it works if you use the Neo2 Manager to replace the menu / burn the games ? (if you've got a WIndows computer, that is).
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mr.spiv on August 14, 2010, 07:52:04 PM
So the problem was in your programmer? Or does game loading still not work on your CoreGrafx? Have you tried if it works if you use the Neo2 Manager to replace the menu / burn the games ? (if you've got a WIndows computer, that is).

No problems with my programmer.. so far. That works fine with both 1.03 & 1.04 Neoflash menus. The bug I mentioned was related to just GUI logic... ROMs still don't boot up in CoreGrafx with your menu.

And alas, I don't have a Windows machine nor an image I could possibly use. In past I used some random machine at work to do required USB sniffing. Maybe I could hijack one again and do some testing.
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mic_ on August 15, 2010, 12:08:11 AM
Huh.
Well, if you ever find anything I can try fixing it.
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mr.spiv on August 16, 2010, 03:19:41 AM
Huh.
Well, if you ever find anything I can try fixing it.

No probs. I'll try to sort this stuff out as well... though I am quite a slacker when it comes to complete anything. Btw, the carts I have are first generation 64M and 128M carts. These have no save ram.
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: elcetrochip on December 16, 2010, 07:31:19 PM
is there a way to use the updated menu with the old programming software? I get a bios size error when I try. The new Neo 2 Manager does not work with my non-save 128m card.
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mic_ on December 16, 2010, 11:59:36 PM
is there a way to use the updated menu with the old programming software? I get a bios size error when I try. The new Neo 2 Manager does not work with my non-save 128m card.

If the old programmer is hardcoded to only accept an 8kB menu then no: there isn't a way. The new menu is twice as large because of the extra graphics.
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: Conle on December 17, 2010, 11:43:45 AM
The new Neo 2 Manager does not work with my non-save 128m card.

Better report it in the Neo2 Manager's 1.0.6 thread.    ~sm-69.gif~.gif
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: markwolfe on December 22, 2010, 02:39:25 AM
just tested this menu using the OSX beta slimgui software and it does not work, it looks great but when you choose to launch game, it jut resets the menu. this is a glitch in the lading software I'm sure. too bad because this looks great.
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mic_ on December 22, 2010, 05:20:06 AM
What model of the console are you using? I only have a PAL TG16 myself, so that's the only kind I can test with.

I really have zero documentation about how the cart works. The way I made the updated menu was by manually disassembling the original menu with the help of an emulator, and then adding my own code for listing multiple games and loading some additional graphics. But the actual loading should be exactly the same, so I'm assuming you have the same problems with the original menu(?)
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: markwolfe on December 23, 2010, 07:51:00 AM
What model of the console are you using? I only have a PAL TG16 myself, so that's the only kind I can test with.

I really have zero documentation about how the cart works. The way I made the updated menu was by manually disassembling the original menu with the help of an emulator, and then adding my own code for listing multiple games and loading some additional graphics. But the actual loading should be exactly the same, so I'm assuming you have the same problems with the original menu(?)


I'm sure the problem is not your menu. it happens with the official menu when using the OSX loader software too: http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php/topic,5941.0.html

My consoles are a US Turbo Duo and a PC-Engine LT.

I will try your menu using the official writer and see what happens. I'm sure it will work. I like that it shows more than one game at a time, plus it does not cause the same sort of "burn in" that the stark blue background and white letters cause. I find I can see a ghost image of the official menu on my LT screen and it probably does the same on an LCD or PLasma TVs too. yours has muted colors and is much more subtle.
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mr.spiv on December 23, 2010, 10:25:07 PM

I'm sure the problem is not your menu. it happens with the official menu when using the OSX loader software too: http://www.neoflash.com/forum/index.php/topic,5941.0.html

My consoles are a US Turbo Duo and a PC-Engine LT.

I will try your menu using the official writer and see what happens. I'm sure it will work. I like that it shows more than one game at a time, plus it does not cause the same sort of "burn in" that the stark blue background and white letters cause. I find I can see a ghost image of the official menu on my LT screen and it probably does the same on an LCD or PLasma TVs too. yours has muted colors and is much more subtle.

Keeping my OSX flasher as a reference might not be fair towards Mic.. because I have not isolated what causes the "reset" behavior. I would keep the old official v1.1 windows flash software as the reference. That's the software whose USB protocol I originally dumped. By the way.. recently when I did testing with the latest windows software, my carts have similar crashing or broken gfx issues. Not to mention that the latest windows software does not seem to remove the possible 512 bytes header from roms. (I am using Core Grafx)
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: Hatta on December 29, 2010, 11:53:02 AM
I see that you have the save feature supported.  Can I ask how you use this?  I have been unable to figure out how to do this with either your menu or the original. 
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: markwolfe on December 29, 2010, 12:36:26 PM
I see that you have the save feature supported.  Can I ask how you use this?  I have been unable to figure out how to do this with either your menu or the original.

what I did was download the pc writer software and take the menu bios file from that. I put it in the same directory that I put the osx software. when I launch it, I selected the CUSTOM MENU feature and then select the menu bios form the pc writer. THAT gives you the save feature when writing with the osx software. the built in menu in the software does not offer that.
Title: Re: Updated PC-E menu
Post by: mr.spiv on December 29, 2010, 06:31:58 PM
the way.. recently when I did testing with the latest windows software, my carts have similar crashing or broken gfx issues. Not to mention that the latest windows software does not seem to remove the possible 512 bytes header from roms. (I am using Core Grafx)

Forgot to say that the OSX Slim-e-loader removes the "SNES" header automatically unless the rom is less than 1Mbits.. You may encounter these very short roms when doing your own PCE development or try some homebrew stuff.