Author Topic: NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released (soft-reset and SD fix)  (Read 6055 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released


the modify history:
[1] add soft-reset function
[2] fix the SD card read/write issue


about soft-reset function:
$00C050 SET 0X00 don't back to MENU
            0X01 hold RESET over 3 seconds then back to MENU 
            0X02 press RESET then back to MENU 
            0X03 use software control back to MENU



about the software MENU
$00C012 SET  0X01  $003800~$003FFF RAM READ  ON  <CPLD RAM
$00C015 SET  0X01  $003800~$003FFF RAM WRITE ON  <CPLD RAM


1.GAME $FFEA:XX YY move to 3FF0
  3FF0:XX YY
 
2.GAME $FFEA XX YY need change to 00 3E
 
   
$3E00  PHP
       PHA
       LDA  $004219
       CMP  #$30     ( SEL+START )
       BEQ  SRET
       PLA
       PLP
       JMP ($3FF0)   << JUMP NMI 

SRET: 
       STA $00FFFF   << RESET CPLD IO
       NOP
       JMP ($FFFC)   << JUMP MENU           

In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline mic_

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 632
Re: NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released (soft-reset and SD fix)
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2010, 05:53:13 PM »
Quote
[2] fix the SD card read/write issue

What exactly have you changed regarding SD access?  I've already been able to successfully mount an SD card and open a file through the SNES menu, so I hope I won't have to make changes to my code now.
Did you just change so that the C00000 memory range can be accessed in copy mode or something like that (I'm currently using 400000 since you mentioned earlier that the ASIC is too slow for FastROM timing)?

Offline Aleomark

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
  • Just a gamer!
    • El otro lado
Re: NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released (soft-reset and SD fix)
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2010, 09:42:09 PM »
besides the update core, I need something else like a sd menu file or a new menu burned into flash?

Offline mic_

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 632
Re: NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released (soft-reset and SD fix)
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2010, 09:49:13 PM »
besides the update core, I need something else like a sd menu file or a new menu burned into flash?

The core update shouldn't affect anything without changes to the menu (if I'm interpreting Dr Neo's post correctly - it was a bit light on details).

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Re: NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released (soft-reset and SD fix)
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2010, 12:56:29 AM »
besides the update core, I need something else like a sd menu file or a new menu burned into flash?

The SD menu isn't ready just yet. Mic has been working hard on this (with a little help here and there from yours truly). Once it's ready, mic will post it; menus are burned to the menu flash using the PC client (neo 2 manager).

Offline ronaldo_76

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released (soft-reset and SD fix)
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2010, 02:27:09 AM »
are the reset funktion ready yet? i have a modded snes i can switch 50/60Hz by pressing the reset button and change region/region free by holding the reset button 3sec long. so i can't use the reset function?

thanks

Offline mic_

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 632
Re: NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released (soft-reset and SD fix)
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2010, 03:30:08 AM »
Quote
are the reset funktion ready yet? i have a modded snes i can switch 50/60Hz by pressing the reset button and change region/region free by holding the reset button 3sec long. so i can't use the reset function?

None of this is used in the menu yet. I don't know what happens with the reset function if you update the core on your cart and use the current menu (0.26), but I'm guessing it'll default to the old behavior (i.e. pressing reset always goes back to the current game, not to the menu). If you're in doubt then just don't do the core update, since there's nothing in there that's needed for any currently planned features.
 
Personally I'll wait with updating my cart until I know exactly what "[2] fix the SD card read/write issue" means, since I wasn't aware of any issue.

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released (soft-reset and SD fix)
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2010, 04:19:01 PM »
 ~sm-52.gif~.gif
Yep , better don't upgrade yet.  ::sm-16.gif:: mic_'s current menu can almost load a game from the sd , so lets wait  a little bit to get more info regarding the "SD-Fix" ~sm-78.gif~.gif
« Last Edit: October 09, 2010, 04:22:18 PM by Conle »

Offline ronaldo_76

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released (soft-reset and SD fix)
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2010, 04:22:51 PM »
too late :(

i have upgrade, to test whether the reset function works...  :'(

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released (soft-reset and SD fix)
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2010, 04:28:03 PM »
i have upgrade, to test whether the reset function works...  :'(

The reset function should not work at all without the menu writing a valid flag to the myth reset reg.  ::sm-16.gif::
Currently the core should interpretting the default configuration which is flag $00 and translates to : "Reset to game"  ~sm-51.gif~.gif

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: NEO_SNES_Myth_Cart_Upgrade_Core_V2.1 released (soft-reset and SD fix)
« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2010, 06:36:26 PM »

What exactly have you changed regarding SD access? --- we fix the timing issue that when try to write GBA card flash from the SNES console.

Did you just change so that the C00000 memory range can be accessed in copy mode or something like that (I'm currently using 400000 since you mentioned earlier that the ASIC is too slow for FastROM timing)? --- now you have both area can use, please check the v2.3 hardware  ~sm-63.gif~.gif
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......