Author Topic: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences  (Read 26028 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« on: January 04, 2006, 01:42:19 AM »
Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
Please fill out this form and post it to the forum so we can collect the bugs and fix it!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Just to keep the info in one place and make it simpler to tell if some of us are getting better results with specific hardware. Good idea, no?

I will put a link here for each poster that has posted their hardware, put an asterix beside the hardware you use as first choice for testing.
#########################################
SintaxangelflyMoztruituq_armandoscrotor
brucegcory1492G-PjubeMartin32JSS
itestitboblenAbraxsis
#########################################
My NDS -----

My flashcards -----

my SD/MMC cards -----

my MK2/3 version -----

the menu version -----

the problem -----

#########################################

example:

My NDS -----
Silver USA NDS (passme compatible) with FlashMe V5 installed
(not using flashme to boot the menus)


My flashcards -----
XG2005

my SD/MMC cards -----
Sandisk 128M SD

my MK2/3 version -----
MK3 512M+128M

the menu version -----
V0.4a

the problem -----
can't detect my 128M SD cart.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2006, 08:06:55 PM by cory1492 »
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline Sintax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2006, 03:32:47 AM »
My NDS -----
Silver US, first generation with FlashMe v6

My flashcards -----
NeoMax (NeoMax Kit)

my SD/MMC cards -----
128MB AData (NeoMax Kit)

my MK2/3 version -----
MK3 512+128 (NeoMax Kit)

the menu version -----
0.4/0.4a

the problem -----
Can't burn anything bigger than 16 megabytes to my 64 megabyte cart- gives a fatal error. Burning works fine with menu 0.3.

Offline angelfly

  • Neo-Newbie
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 124
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2006, 06:48:13 AM »
My NDS -----
Silver US launch day DS

My flashcards -----
Neomax 512Mb + 128Mb Zip

my SD/MMC cards -----
1GB(yte) AData

my MK2/3 version -----
MK3 64M + 32M Zip

the menu version -----
0.4

the problem -----
Certain games that worked in 0.3 will not even when flashed to the cart (i.e. Super Princess Peach, Mario & Luigi Partners in Time). The other problem is it's not detecting my MK3. I get fatal error when trying to flash it or browse it. I also can't use the touchpad on any homebrew apps.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2006, 01:31:03 AM by angelfly »

Offline Moztruitu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2006, 07:42:59 AM »
 My NDS -----
Silver Eurpean DS

My flashcards -----
Neomax 1Gb

my SD/MMC cards -----
1GB AData (128 Mb)

my MK2/3 version -----
MK3 64M + 32M Zip

the menu version -----
0.1, 0.2, 0.3, and finally 0.4 (0.4a don't know how to use it)

the problem -----
All kind of problems. Roms don't run in the sd cart (example: Mario & luigui, castelvania, yu-gi-oh), roms can't save flashing over GBA cart (example castelvania) adn dont run in the GBA flash cart (example: Yu-gi-oh), roms haven't enough space to run in the mk3 (all roms with size bigger than 16 Mb)......and more and more.

Solution ---
Throw away through the window this **** of unfinished flash, assume the Neoflash swindle, and buying a serius flash cart like g6 or M3 or Supercard

Offline q_armando

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2006, 01:14:44 AM »
#########################################


My NDS -----
Dark Blue USA NDS NU115***(maybe passme compatible)very recently pourchased, updated to flashme V6 trough MK3 and SD card(original firmware v3,but menus did boot even before flashme!!)


My flashcards -----
F2A 256(not Ultra)

my SD/MMC cards -----
Sandisk 1G SD

my MK2/3 version -----
MK3 256M+64M

the menu version -----
V0.4

the problem -----
Some games still don't run from the SD card,my flash cart is not supported for flashing games with MK3,flashing games to the MK3 flash memory seems too slow, but all in all I am a satisfied costumer and would racomend the MK3 to others.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2006, 12:16:59 AM by q_armando »
Quote from: scrotor on January 05, 2006, 10:32:35 PM
"You are a dildohead......
......I had a few issues getting up and running, so ask away, I'll do my best to help you, even tho' you're being a @#$% cheap ass pirate.
"

Offline scrotor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2006, 06:23:00 AM »
My NDS -----
Silver, 1st gen

My flashcards -----
Neomax 512

my SD/MMC cards -----
Kingston 1gigabyte

my MK2/3 version -----
64m + 32mzip

the menu version -----
v0.4

the problem -----
Loads slow from the SD card :)  In the next menu versions it would be nice to be able to copy files from the SD card to the other cards on the NDS, if possable.  Compatability issues with DS roms as well.

Offline bruceg

  • NEO Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1512
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2006, 06:23:45 AM »
My NDS -----
Silver USA NDS (passme compatible - original firmware)

My flashcards -----
NEO-MAX

my SD/MMC cards -----
ADATA 128M SD

my MK2/3 version -----
MK3 128M+64M

the menu version -----
V0.4

the problem -----
SD card game compatibility still low, certain games flashed to NEO-MAX cartridge still don't work (Lost in Blue, in particular, Euro and USA versions, hang at title screen with garbled sound)
 
 
 
 

Offline cory1492

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1443
    • Cory1492's NDS + PSP corner
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2006, 11:14:56 AM »
My NDS -----
Silver USA NDS (passme compatible) with FlashMe V6 installed
(not using flashme to boot the menus)
V6 reported that my firmware was initially V1

My flashcards -----
XG2005 512
*NeoMax 512
SuperCard SD
F2A ultra 1gig
EZ flash 2 PowerStar 512
EZ flash 1 256
M3-SD

my SD/MMC cards -----
Sandisk 128M SD
Sandisk 64M SD
*MyFlash AData 128MB SD

my MK2/3 version -----
MK2
*MK3 64M+32M
MK3 256M+64M
MK3 512M+128M

the menu version -----
V0.2, V0.3, V0.4, *V0.4a

the problem -----
There is only so much time in a day for any coder.

They are slowly giving us the options and abilities they want us to have, and also ones we asked for. The main problem is that people arent patient and are either too broke or too lame to go and buy/rent the actual games, and they dont realize that currently there is no final release that should work perfectly with everything and that the point of the releases it to draw out the vague bugs that arent caught during initial testing while still giving quite alot of functionality to current MK2/3 owners.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2006, 08:07:46 PM by cory1492 »
Those who have come here to hate should leave now, for in their hatred they only betray themselves.
translated from The Book of Life (Src: Sword of Truth - Phantom by Terry Goodkind)

Offline G-Pjube

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Ochoufujin
    • (WILL SOON CHANGE)
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2006, 04:37:09 PM »
My NDS -----
First generation DS, silver.
FlashME v6 installed.

My flashcards -----
GBA Movie Player version 2

my SD/MMC cards -----
DV-d500 64Mb MMC-Card

my MK2/3 version -----
MK2

the menu version -----
0.4a (.NDS)

the problem -----
I know have this annoying problem, sometimes games do work and then they don't work. As it is the same game that is tested (Castlevania). Is it just my MMC or is it the menu?
« Last Edit: January 06, 2006, 12:56:23 AM by G-Pjube »

Offline Martin32

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2006, 04:45:54 AM »
My NDS -----
UK DS, silver  Mariocart Bundle - NEF10*****5
FlashME NOT installed.

My flashcards -----
GBA Flash Advance Turbo 128M Card

my SD/MMC cards -----
SanDisk 64/128/256 - I always load directly from SD cards.

my MK2/3 version -----
MK2

the menu version -----
0.3/0.4/0.5

the problem -----
0.3 = could never get it to read my Sandisk 64/128 cards correctly
0.4 = Most Roms require unpacking and packing using ndstool before they will load.  Some Roms have worked and now don't. 

0.5 = as 0.4 but SAV files dont save, backing up a NDS cart works very very slowly (2hrs+)
« Last Edit: January 16, 2006, 01:18:02 AM by Martin32 »

Offline JSS

  • Neo-Newbie
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 185
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2006, 02:43:34 PM »
My NDS -----
Silver USA NDS. Not flashed.


My flashcards -----
XGflash 256Mb (old XGflash :P)

my SD/MMC cards -----
MMC extrememory 1GB....

my MK2/3 version -----
MK3 512M+128M

the menu version -----
V0.3, V0.4 (gba version)

the problem -----
With menu:  V0.3:

Read this topic

And for lazy people:

Quote
1.- I have a MMC extrememory of 1GB. Also i have a SD kingston of 1GB
2.-When I start my DS with the MMC inserted in the MK3 it always gives me the "fatal error..."
3. If I remove the MMC and insert it again without turning off the DS It recognizes perfectly the MMC!!!!!!!

Please Dr. neo take note of this!!!. It seems like the MK3 doesn`t starts to send energy to the MMC at the startup, i say this because i`ve played some hours with the DS and the baterry led of the DS started to flash red: if I remove the MMC it turns green!!!.... if i put the MMC back it turns red.... if i remove the MMC it turns green.....

And what happens if i restart the DS with the current battery charge?-----> the DS shows the green led at start-up (SOOOO, it doesn`t gives energy to the MMC at the start-up)... then, if i remove the MMC, the led remains green, and, when i put the MMC again the led turns red (SOOO, the MK3 starts to send energy to the MMC) and the MK3 recognizes the MMC!!!!

And what happens if i restart the DS with the current battery charge and my SD kingston of 1GB?-----> the DS starts-up with the battery led in RED (so, it starts to send energy to the SD at the start-up)

With menu 0.4:

I have the same problem in the menu 0.3, but, now i have to remove the entire MK3 to make it recognize the MMC as menu V0.3 does. if I try to remove only the MMC (and, of course, put it back) in menu 0.4, it just doesn`t  recognizes the MMC.....

Another importat bug:
I always remove the original game from the MK3 while i`m in the menu 0.4, it works perfectly only if removing while you`re in the menu, because if you do this while you`re playing, the DS gives you an error. I do this to save some battery (two hours more of gameplay ;D).... well the problem is when you close the DS (hibernation): the two screens starts flashing very fast and looks like my NDS is dying :o :o (hahahaha)... this doesn`t happens if the original game is inserted in the MK3...

and of course, another problem is in the ROM`s compatibility, some games, like Mario 64 work very fine in menu 0.3, and now, in menu 0.4 y doesn`t works :( .



« Last Edit: January 10, 2006, 05:05:50 AM by JSS »

Offline itestit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2006, 10:22:48 PM »
My NDS -----
Silver JP, first generation (No FlashMe installed)

My flashcards -----
XG2005 128Mb

my SD/MMC cards -----
512MB Kingston SD

my MK2/3 version -----
MK3 512+128

the menu version -----
0.3 0.4 0.4a

the problem -----
bad compatibility of directly run on SD card

Offline boblen

  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1130
    • Aussie-Play.com
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2006, 08:05:54 PM »
My NDS -----
Aus launch day DS

My flashcards -----
GBAMP

my SD/MMC cards -----
Lexar 256 SD

my MK2/3 version -----
MK2

the menu version -----
0.4a

the problem -----
Get lag bugs and takes time to load some roms :(

Offline Abraxsis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2006, 06:52:39 PM »
My NDS -----
Silver USA NDS, still as I bought it, original firmware.

My flashcards -----
X-Rom 512mb cart

my SD/MMC cards -----
PNY 1gb SD

my MK2/3 version -----
MK3 256M

the menu version -----
V0.4a

the problem -----
Can't direct load most roms 64mb or over, they need to be flashed which is impossible since my MK3 is only 256mb.

Most roms under 64 also need to be flashed which is ok but takes 10 minutes per game.

I can also can store around 35 roms on my 1gb card but only 20 or so show up in the menu. Some roms also still play slow.

Some roms, like Mario & Luigi played fine on menu 0.3 but will not play with menu 0.4a.

Also would like to be able to use my 512mb GBA flash cart for more than storing the menu.

Offline JSS

  • Neo-Newbie
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 185
Re: Your Hardware - make it simple to show the differences
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2006, 09:53:11 AM »
This is an update of my report for menu 0.5:

My NDS -----
Silver USA NDS. Flashed with Flasme 0.6


My flashcards -----
XGflash 256Mb (old XGflash :P)

my SD/MMC cards -----
MMC extrememory 1GB that really has 990 MB... my SD kingston 1GB has 968MB :o

my MK2/3 version -----
MK3 512M+128M

the menu version -----
V0.3, V0.4 (gba version), V.05

the problem -----

With menu 0.5

-----At the startup seems like menu 0.5 recognizes my MMC (MMC extrememory 1GB that really has 990 MB... my SD kingston 1GB has 968MB :o ). But it detects a card with FAT12 (not 16) with 0Mb... so, I have to remove the entire MK3 to make it recognize te MMC.


-----Sometimes at the startup the menu says that my MK3 (512+128) has 1Gb of memory.

----- The menu 0.5 fails when loading a lot of .sav files of MANY games that before never failed loading the .sav, for example Mario Kart. This error is new in the menu 0.5 . I haven`t seen this error before in the other  menu versions... 

----If you do not delete de MK2_SAVE file (created by the menu 0.4) the menu 0.5 doesn`t works properly.... when you try to boot a game, the menu 0.5 always says: "Saving NEO", it doesn`t matter how many times you try!!!!, and it doesn`t matter in how many games you try!!!, it always do the same thing and it doesn`t boot the game.

----Menu 0.5 has the same compatibility of the menu 0.4. it is impossible to add the compatibility of the menu 0.3 to the next release???. Menu 0.3 has the best compatibility of all menus!!!.

That`s all for the moment, maybe i`ll add something more ;D
« Last Edit: January 15, 2006, 10:06:30 AM by JSS »