Author Topic: Testers report thread  (Read 65155 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline KR155E

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #165 on: February 01, 2010, 01:59:37 AM »
That's right, the Z64 auto patches games to work on your console. I don't think I ever had problems playing any NTSC games on my PAL console. I assume and hope that the Myth 64 will offer the same feature when it gets SD support.

BTW, the Z64 was not made by Bung, but by Z64 Enterprises. Bung made the V64 and V64jr.

Offline MockyLock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #166 on: February 01, 2010, 02:49:24 AM »
Exact for the Z64 and thank you for agreeing with my reply.
BTW, are you KR155E from vr32.de ?
You should since you have this special name.
I'm one of the "happy owner" of the Flashboy =) (#44 i think)
We meet in every good game place !
(If you're not the one from vr32.de, so apologize and forget what I say...)

Offline Nekojin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #167 on: February 01, 2010, 02:51:03 AM »
@KR155E

If you have some time, could you test if this also works with Indiana Jones and the Infernal Machine?

I never got this to work on a Pal N64, even with Paladin.

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #168 on: February 01, 2010, 03:03:08 AM »
When the menu & its source is released we can then try to setup the video mode based on the game's region.This might fix the region issues.

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #169 on: February 01, 2010, 03:04:21 AM »
The Region and Pal Fix could be added to the Neo2 Ultra Menu and also to the SD Menu using some custom patching magic thingies I don't understand but Conle or Chillywilly will add something like that in the future I'm pretty sure.

Until then just use PALadin. It works.  ~sm-42.gif~
I just played Sin & Punishment (J) and Indiana Jones (U) on my PAL N64.

What I did was:
I placed the Sin & Punishment Rom in C:\
I placed PALadin.exe in C:\
I pressed Win+R and wrote cmd, pressed enter
It displayed C:\Users\sanni in that black dos-like window thing
i typed cd.. pressed enter, and then again cd.. and pressed enter
now it said: C:\
so I typed:
paladin /p /f "sin and punishment.z64"
I pressed enter
It said something.
I flashed the rom using the Neo2 Ultra Menu, 4KB save, 6102 CIC.
I plugged it in my PAL N64, used Jet Force Gemini PAL as boot cart, but Mario 64 and all other PAL Carts will work also.
It booted.
It was in Color.
Now you could also try the /m command instead of the /p command, but I don't know if that works.

/f removes the region check, this makes S&P boot
/p will set it to 50Hz PAL, this will remove the image distortion

if you use /m it will set it to 60Hz PAL, which is better then 50Hz PAL but I didn't test it as it just tooks to damn long to flash a 256Mbit game over and over again.

« Last Edit: February 01, 2010, 04:01:43 AM by sanni »

Offline MockyLock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #170 on: February 01, 2010, 06:50:12 AM »
Thanks again gor all what you do.
When I used PALadin, I used it with the S-Paladin GUI, perhaps I've done a wrong thing.
Tommorow I'll try without the GUI and using your method.
Waiting for the whole new function included with the menu.
BTW, anyone know about the ModeA / Mode0 of the loader menu ?
And about PSRAM function ? 'cause as i told above, i'm not a coder/ programmer and don't understand all :/

Offline KR155E

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #171 on: February 01, 2010, 09:24:42 AM »
@MockyLock : Yes, that's me, hi! :D

@Nekojin: Sorry, I don't have my Z64 anymore, sold it years ago. :(

Offline MockyLock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #172 on: February 02, 2010, 03:23:30 AM »
I tested you rmethod sanni and IT WORKS !
You're great indeed.
It saves us we all europeans =)

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #173 on: February 02, 2010, 06:02:39 AM »
I'm glad that I could help.
Have fun with your Neo MYth Cart  ~sm-42.gif~

Offline the|Gamer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #174 on: February 05, 2010, 12:44:10 AM »
HI,
Sanni thank I try it out ;)

Offline MockyLock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #175 on: February 06, 2010, 08:35:36 PM »
Hello all
My Neo Myth 64 has some weird behavior late time.
First i lost again 2 Mb of memory. I managed to get them back by formating with NeoMenu 2.93.
I thought that it was all done but when I wanted to burn Perfect Dark US, i got a "verifying data error", and i had many burning errors with Perfect Dark, Goldeneye (even with 512Mb free).
I tried every NeoMenu. But i could burn Conker Bad Fur Day.
Because I wanted to test furthermore, i tried a format that add errors, and now I only have 507Mb.
It seems that the Neo Myth 64 is not stable. I don't know if it comes from the flashcard of from the 512Mb card.
I'll try to recover the whole 512 Mb using any NeoMenu.
But it's so weird that the Neo Myth can run any rom very well for a time and suddenly have many problems of burning/verifying data, and in the same time loose Mb of memory...

EDIT : some questions:
What is the use of ModeA/Mode0 option ?
When burning roms onto the flashcard, can we let the boot card inserted ?
Do you start the NeoMenu before or after connecting the flashcard ?
It can seem some ridiculous question but...
« Last Edit: February 06, 2010, 08:57:40 PM by MockyLock »

Offline Aleomark

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
  • Just a gamer!
    • El otro lado
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #176 on: February 06, 2010, 09:40:12 PM »
What is the use of ModeA/Mode0 option ?
this mode you don't need to change, leave it as it's

When burning roms onto the flashcard, can we let the boot card inserted ?
I always burn my rooms with the boot card game attached and everything is all right

Do you start the NeoMenu before or after connecting the flashcard ?

before connecting, but i guess if you do it after and you refresh the software there should be not troubles.

Offline sanni

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #177 on: February 07, 2010, 05:18:47 AM »
There seems to be a nasty save bug in the japanese and us version of Mario Kart 64.
The PAL version works fine though.
It would be nice if some testers could confirm this.  ~sm-41.gif~

Here is a video, it goes dark in the middle for quite some seconds, just wait until the tv screen is on again to see the bug:

http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/4929/mk64.mp4

How to reproduce the bug:
- flash Mario Kart 64 (J) oder (U) with following settings:
CIC: 6102
SAVE: 4kb Eeprom
- play through the first cup and win
- now in the cup selection menu you see a golden goblet
- now turn your N64 off
- wait a minute or two
- turn your N64 on again
- go to the cup selection screen
- the golden goblet is vanished and so is your save
- also if you had any other games flashed that uses 4kb eeprom, their saves are probably also gone ... as I said it's a nasty one  ~sm-31.gif~

Offline Nekojin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #178 on: February 07, 2010, 06:20:51 AM »
Hi, I just tested it with the same settings than you.

My result:

Mario Kart 64 (J) (V1.0) [!].z64 - DOES NOT SAVE ON V2.99

//Update//

This is kind of wired:
Mario Kart 64 (J) (V1.0) [!].z64 - Saves on Card even EEPRom 4KBit was selected - v2.93
« Last Edit: February 07, 2010, 06:48:30 AM by Nekojin »

Offline ronaldo_76

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #179 on: February 07, 2010, 06:32:55 AM »
yeah same probs here:

jap. n64
mario kart 64 (ntsc/us)
wave race 64 (ntsc/us)

bootcatridge: conker's bad fur day (ntsc/us), Super Mario 64 (ntsc/jap)