Author Topic: Testers report thread  (Read 50539 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #30 on: February 15, 2010, 02:55:48 AM »
Anyone tried the uncompressed version of Star ocean yet?And if yes , does it work?
I plan to try it out later once i finish something...

Offline King Of Chaos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #31 on: February 15, 2010, 03:29:45 AM »
No, it won't because the programmer/menu doesn't recongize a game over 64mb where as the decompressed Star Ocean is 96mb.

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #32 on: February 15, 2010, 11:52:14 AM »
No, it won't because the programmer/menu doesn't recongize a game over 64mb where as the decompressed Star Ocean is 96mb.

Yes you are right.Its not a hardware limitation by the way , just the programmer is limiting the size to (64 * MBIT) per rom.

PS:Thanks for the .smc dump :D

Offline King Of Chaos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #33 on: February 15, 2010, 12:59:07 PM »
No problem, should be easy to support within the programmer. :)

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #34 on: February 15, 2010, 04:00:48 PM »
No problem, should be easy to support within the programmer. :)

I made a quick tool to detect the header and patch some offsets that the programmer is checking and seems i was right , the programmer limits the size of the rom to 64 * mbit.

Also the header scoring code seems to be incorrect and detects wrong mapping and this results in wrong save type detection and many other things.

I will let ShivenYu know about this issue  ~sm-37.gif~

Offline King Of Chaos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #35 on: February 16, 2010, 12:48:12 AM »
Yeah, that'd explain why some games try to run as HROM but fail to work - they need to run as LROM. There's a list of them, fortunately. :)

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #36 on: February 16, 2010, 02:38:22 AM »
That was the problem when I tried running the sample program from snes-sdk on the Myth. It set it as HROM and I didn't notice as I had selected a bunch of roms to write all at once. It failed to run, so I went back and looked more closely and saw it was HROM instead of LROM. Flipping that setting and burning the menu fixed the issue, but it would be nice if it got the setting correct automatically.
 ::sm-29.gif::

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #37 on: February 16, 2010, 03:09:52 AM »
I have already started working on the plugin.
Still its not even 25% complete but it can detect the basic info :



It will contain all sort of patches(crc/pal-ntsc fixes/ips/detection of everything and multi header detection).

But the N64 plugin has higher priority for now, so patience!
 ::sm-24.gif::
« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 03:11:31 AM by Conle »

Offline ~tak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #38 on: February 16, 2010, 03:37:09 AM »
ok, just for my understanding: the neomyth should be able to run ROMs larger than 64Mbit?

and there are a bunch of JPN games which are not detected correctly (for e.g. GO GO Ackman 1-3), it looks like the programmer application needs a lot of improvement in detection

Offline King Of Chaos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #39 on: February 16, 2010, 03:45:49 AM »
Well, it potentially can run anything larger than 64Mbit since the SNES is able to handle the 96Mbit Star Ocean. The programmer currently doesn't support anything over 64Mbit, but I'm sure it will soon enough.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 03:48:20 AM by King Of Chaos »

Offline ChillyWilly

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
  • Just a coding machine.
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #40 on: February 16, 2010, 04:26:12 AM »
There hasn't been a release of info on the SNES Myth yet, but it looks very similar to the MD Myth - the Myth has 64Mbit of PSRAM that is loaded with the game to play from the flash (or eventually the SD card once I work on that). You'll notice in the test operation that 64 Mbit of PSRAM is tested, so I don't think there's more than that. That means 64 Mbits is (probably) the upper limit on games that can be run.

Offline King Of Chaos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #41 on: February 16, 2010, 08:19:53 AM »
That would unfortunately suck. In any case, I'll be purchasing copies of Star Ocean and Street Fighter Alpha 2 regardless.

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #42 on: February 16, 2010, 12:07:41 PM »
I remember there was a  post by Dr.Neo that had answered to this question.
Can't find it at the moment ::sm-01::


Offline ~tak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #43 on: February 16, 2010, 03:10:08 PM »
Well, it potentially can run anything larger than 64Mbit since the SNES is able to handle the 96Mbit Star Ocean. The programmer currently doesn't support anything over 64Mbit, but I'm sure it will soon enough.

my question was regarding the NeoMyth hardware and not the SNES. I know quite well where the SNES hw limitation is and I also notice that the NeoMyth has "only" 64Mbit PSRAM which is from my point of view the limitation for anything larger. Since there is no official ROM (notice the official?) that is larger than 64MBit the NeoMyth HW was designed correctly and the programmer software is acting as it should :-)
« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 03:13:31 PM by ~tak »

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: Testers report thread
« Reply #44 on: February 16, 2010, 05:55:04 PM »
ChillyWilly have you done any research on 128Mb zip ram of NEO2 SD cart?

Do you think we have a chance to use it?
« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 05:57:49 PM by Conle »