Author Topic: SNES memory bus mapping  (Read 14522 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dr.neo

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3826
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #15 on: February 20, 2010, 01:22:08 PM »
yes we can make few pcs special 128M psram snes myth cart for test  ::sm-10.gif::
In my world,have 0 and 1 only ......Matrix World......

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #16 on: February 20, 2010, 01:42:42 PM »
yes we can make few pcs special 128M psram snes myth cart for test  ::sm-10.gif::

That's more than good news!  ~sm-42.gif~  ~sm-43.gif~

Offline Aleomark

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
  • Just a gamer!
    • El otro lado
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2010, 08:20:15 PM »
That's more than good news!  ~sm-42.gif~  ~sm-43.gif~

I agree that would be amazing!

Offline King Of Chaos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #18 on: February 21, 2010, 01:13:33 AM »
That'd be fun actually. =P

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #19 on: February 22, 2010, 06:15:27 PM »
I just ordered one GB/GBC 64M flashcart from Kitsch Bent's store and it seems i will be the first one who will try out GB/GBC fc plugged in SuperGameBoy cart  on SNES/SFC Myth.

 ::sm-12.gif::
I'm pretty sure the detection(enumeration) will fail , but you never know.
 ~sm-37.gif~
« Last Edit: February 22, 2010, 06:17:02 PM by Conle »

Offline mic_

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 632
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #20 on: February 22, 2010, 06:26:37 PM »
Yup. I've got two GB flash carts and a third on the way, but no Super Gameboy. What exactly are you planning to test with the Myth though? Shouldn't GB flash cart + Super Gameboy be enough?

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #21 on: February 22, 2010, 07:25:01 PM »
Yup. I've got two GB flash carts and a third on the way, but no Super Gameboy. What exactly are you planning to test with the Myth though? Shouldn't GB flash cart + Super Gameboy be enough?

I want to see if the snes menu can detect it and launch it properly.
I don't have any GB/GBC games now to test my SGB cart unfortunately(gave them all years ago) , so i want to see if that GB/GBC cart + SGC cart will work fine if i have it plugged on the snes/sfc myth.

I will have a look on the source later to see if it actually does any check on the image just to get an idea.

 ~sm-37.gif~

Offline spinal

  • Coder of DSision
  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 796
    • spinalcode
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #22 on: February 22, 2010, 11:15:38 PM »
I have a SGB, what exactly is it you want to test? just to see if it will load properly when pressing Y to load the cart from the myth?

[edit] Just did a small video...
Super Gameboy Test @ Youtube

The only problem seems to be when booting a 'super' gameboy game, the border fails to load and the screen stays black, shown at about 1:50, following that, the Supergameboy booting for real just to show that the game actually works.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2010, 12:26:30 AM by spinal »

Offline Sektor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
    • gtamp.com/DS
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #23 on: February 23, 2010, 01:07:41 AM »
I found my Super Gameboy and I couldn't get it to boot normally on my SNES but then I plugged it into the Myth, pushed Y twice and it booted.  It must just be the contacts or position it was in but I tried a few times and so far it hasn't booted WITHOUT the Myth but boots with it. edit: It did eventually work without Myth.

The SNES boots whether or not I have a game connected to the SGB and I was able to load normal SNES games with the SGB as the boot cart.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2010, 01:13:38 AM by Sektor »

Offline Conle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2203
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #24 on: February 23, 2010, 01:17:09 AM »
Spinal , i wanted to see if SNES/SFC Myth could actually boot SGB cart , but i guess i got my answer already!
 ~sm-36.gif~

Thanks for the video by the way ! :D

Once i receive K.Bent's GB/GBC Flashcart i will let you know if i have any success.
 ~sm-37.gif~

Offline Sektor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 394
    • gtamp.com/DS
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #25 on: February 23, 2010, 01:25:28 AM »
The border for Donkey Kong Land III loads when booted with or without Myth.  I don't have any other GB games with borders to test. I never even owned a GB, not sure why I have some GB carts ::sm-18.gif::

« Last Edit: March 31, 2011, 07:34:02 AM by Sektor »

Offline mic_

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 632
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #26 on: February 25, 2010, 01:19:21 AM »
I found an SGB for ~$10 so I can now confirm that my two GB flash carts work fine when run through the SGB and booted by the NEO Myth on my PAL SNES. I don't have a Smartboy or a Bleepblop cart so I can't try those.








Offline spinal

  • Coder of DSision
  • Neo MOD
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 796
    • spinalcode
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #27 on: February 25, 2010, 02:31:38 AM »
mic_ does Mario Blast work on your setup? that game (real cart) doesn't work for me through the myth, but does without it.
It's the only sgb game I have, thats what lead me to think there was a problem with loading them, but as dkl3 works fine, it might just be that game.

Offline mic_

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 632
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #28 on: February 25, 2010, 04:01:44 AM »
I can try that out in a couple of days. I can only program the GB carts with my old computer that has a printer port, and I don't feel like turning it on right now becuase it makes almost as much noise as an XBOX 360 :P

(yes I know the EMS cart has a micro-USB connector, but the drivers don't work on my Vista laptop so I have to program it with the transferer-II which requires a printer port).

Offline mic_

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 632
Re: SNES memory bus mapping
« Reply #29 on: March 05, 2010, 02:45:59 AM »
Quote
mic_ does Mario Blast work on your setup?
I've tested it now and it worked just fine (btw, I'm guessing that you actually meant Wario Blast. That's the game I tested anyway).